Camping Extravaganza

Happy Monday everyone!  I’m kind of working a strange schedule this week, so I’ve got some daytime hours to run and blog and do other fun stuff!

This weekend, I went camping with some friends (from high school, strangely enough) that live in the state. Since I had Friday off, I had lots of time to pick up supplies and do a little shopping:

Oops, bought some more crops. I need them though. I really only have like 2 pairs that actually fit. I also got the opportunity to meet up with a friend from college who was in town for an interview! That was really nice, since if I had been at work, I wouldn’t have been able to meet up.

On to camping.  My friends got here pretty late, and since it’s another hour to Table Rock State Park from here, we stopped at Chick-Fil-A for dinner instead of waiting to cook something when we got there. This was definitely a good plan since it was after 10 by the time we reached the campsite.

You know what’s even better than setting up tents? Setting them up in the dark! Awesome fun!

In all honesty, this was pretty entertaining for everyone involved.  Then we needed to get a fire going, since it was…cold. Now, if you’re going to build a fire in the woods, you can’t do anything halfway…

So you use a blowtorch. Obviously. We stayed up around the fire for a while until we all got so tired that we couldn’t take anymore, so we took our mounds of blankets and sleeping bags into the tents and passed out.

The next morning, we decided to go hiking, so we needed a protein filled breakfast to fill us up!

Iron Chef J!

So eggs and sausage it is.  Between the 5 of us, we at a pound of sausage and two dozen eggs. Oh yea. Then we packed up hugs bags of food and water, and set off to conquer the mountain!

I’ve done this hike several times before, and it’s not easy.  It’s 4 miles to the top, just up. Up. For us flatlander Hoosiers, this is crazy.  But this is definitely the easiest time I’ve ever had hiking up and I can really tell that this is the best shape I’ve been in in a while.

The fall colors were beautiful, and everyone was glad that we ended up hiking all the way to the top, even though it was hard =) We got back to our campsite around dinnertime, totally exhausted. We cooked up hamburgers and hotdogs so we could claim we ate real food before we dug into the s’mores.

There was some sort of big church group or something with a bunch of kids running around like crazy people, but we ended up going to sleep anyways because we were so tired.

The next morning, we packed up the car:

Sort of. And headed for home. I know there’s no pictures of me in the post, but there were some taken, I swear! I just don’t have them yet, since my friend with the camera took most of the pictures while we were on the hike. All in all, we had a blast

Well, I’m off for a nap!

Anyone else have any awesome weekend camping stories?

 

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Camping Extravaganza

  1. It looks so gorgeous up there. I would love hiking and camping, but not if it was too cold. The south has made me a wuss.

  2. MizFit says:

    SO FUN.
    I havent camped since..before the husband!!!

Leave a Reply

