One Week to Kiawah

I’m really excited for the Kiawah Island Half! This week was pretty miserable, so I’m really looking foward to a 2 1/2 day weekend on the beach!

I’ve been really hesitant to set a goal for this race because I knew it was coming less than 2 months after my first marathon, and I had absolutely no idea how I would feel afterwards. But the last couple weeks of running have been really outstanding for me! The only problem is the hip pain that I’ve had for the last week or so =( It kinda came out of nowhere, and I ended up taking several days off running to see if it would get better.  It started with my hip popping when I first woke up in the morning, and it would start hurting sometime around mid-morning while I was at work (I’m on my feet a good bit at work).  I did Body Attack on Tuesday and it really hurt during class, so I figured I’d better take it easy for a few days.  I finally ran again on Friday and I felt better, but it still pops when I first get up.  Anyone encountered this before?

Anyways, I’m very confident that I will at least break my PR of 2:32, so I’m not worried about that. It will definitely be a fun trip, and it sounds like a lot of other bloggers will be there, so I’ll maybe run into some of you all there!

Anyways, one of the Elf 4 Health challenges this week was to try a new workout! Since I wasn’t running for a few days, I took advantage of one of Tina’s workouts and did some upper body weights.

image

I think I’m still sore from this workout!  It was definitely tough.

There’s been some people at work *begging* for me to make some cookies, so I did some baking today. So, I have a cookie recipe to share!  This recipe was given to my by my grandma, but I’m not sure where she got it from. Here it is:

Flourless Peanut Chocolate Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 c creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c roasted peanuts

Beat peanut butter, egg, and sugar together, then stir in all other ingredients.  Bake at 350 for 12-15 mins.

I usually use chunky peanut butter and leave out the roasted peanuts.  This recipe is GF, so enjoy, if that’s an issue!

PB CookiesI maybe tried one…They may be a bit crumbly, so I usually hand roll these instead of using my cookie scooper tool.

I also made some muffins that I found on the Lean Green Bean’s blog! They’re Cranberry Sweet Potato muffins, and super delicious.  I was a little skeptical since the recipe is a bit strange, but I’m a fan!  I doubled the recipe so I’ll have snacks for next week.

Cranberry Muffins

Another goodie….I sent my dad this recipe for a Cranberry Margarita a few weeks ago.  He loved it!  So I tried it out today.

Cranberry MargaritaYup, it’s good.  And the cranberry syrup is super easy to make.  I saved the leftover berry bits; I’m thinking I’ll find a use for them sometime this week instead of throwing them out.

Some other goodies.

PicMonkey CollageCandy Cane Truffles from Trader Joes and Fudge Peppermint Popcorn! Both are very good.  I highly recommend (coming from a chocoholic, you should pay heed).

Last random thought of the day, I stopped by Palmetto Moonshine last week one day after work. I pass by this place on the way to work, and they have a sign that says they have goats on the roof.  Why do they have goats on the roof??? No one knows.

IMG_20121128_145258They had a little pet pig too.  I bought something for my dad for Christmas =)

Any other Christmas goodies I should try?

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Week to Kiawah

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Those cookies look really tasty… seems like PB cookies would be good fuel for Kiawah, hehe. Good luck with resting this week and coming down for it- I won’t be there but I hope you have a great time and beat your PR. Seems like it’s a fast course so hopefully you will, I have a lot of friends doing it. Plus it’s on the beach so what’s not to like about that?

  2. I think a PR at Kiawah is a great goal.
    I cannot wait to see you there.
    Messaging you some info so maybe we can meet up.

  3. so glad you liked the muffins!!

  4. Good luck at Kiawah! I have some friends running that race. I am totally confident that you can set a PR!!! Can’t wait to read about it!

Leave a Reply

