Holiday Craziness

Wow, this week has just been non-stop! I’m still exhausted from all the holiday parties, work and trying to cram some workouts in between.

Yesterday I headed over to Lululemon Greenville for a WOD hosted by Jenn of Crossfit Greer. I don’t remember the exact workout, but there were kettlebell swing and burpees and I’m sore! I also went for a run with my friend M. (we’re doing the Charleston Half together).  I was a  little pathetic because I was tired and my hip still hurts, so I only did a little over 8 miles, but M. did the whole 9!

A note on the hip issue, I did go to the doctor this week to have it looked at. She said it didn’t look like a stress fracture but because I’ve had one before (in my right tibia), I’m at risk, so I need to be careful and if the pain gets worse I need to come back.  She said it was probably just a muscle strain, so big relief there!

The rest of this post is going to be pretty random.

Some things this week I didn’t like:

1. This:

IMG_20121216_111559I bought it because I had a coupon…did not like. The chocolate flavor was not very good at all. Not a fan.

2. I tried Kombucha for the first time ever…

IMG_20121215_140006After I spilled it all over myself and my car (DO NOT SHAKE, SERIOUSLY), I drank it. DID NOT LIKE. The flavor wasn’t bad, but the texture was downright nasty, and for a $4 price tag, will probably not buy again unless someone tells me it will make me awesome.

3. Cookie Fail!

IMG_20121215_172405Must wait until cool before you frost!

4.  I almost died (not really) twice this week! South Carolina drivers are crazy. And that’s all I have to say about that!

Onto some good things from this week!

1. Finished all my Christmas shopping!

IMG_20121216_1431192. Found Bacon Vodka! I have to wait to try it until Christmas (it’s a gift for my dad)

IMG_20121215_1319533. A gift from a friend!

IMG_20121215_212315How cute is this?? She’s so sweet. Speaking of my next 26.2, I might have my next one scheduled =)

4. Cookie Exchange Party at Katie’s house!IMG_20121216_164250

Yea, that’s a lot of cookies. I might die of sugar overload. Everything was so good! We also did an ornament exchange, which was so cute =) We mentioned that it would be a good idea for Katie to post all the recipes on her blog, but here’s the recipe I used.

IMG_20121215_172355Mine didn’t look as pretty, but they sure were tasty!

5. Pumpkin Dump Cake

IMG_20121216_143219I made this at the request of some of my co-workers, so it’s headed to work tomorrow. Recipe:

Pumpkin Dump Cake

  • 1 29-oz can pumpkin
  • 1 12-oz can evaporated milk
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t cloves
  • 1/4 t ginger
  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 2 sticks butter (1 cup)
  • 1 c pecans
  • Cool Whip (for topping)

Beat together first four ingredients. Add salt, cloves, cinnamon and ginger. Pour into a 9×13 pan.  Spinkle dry cake mix over top of mixture in pan.  Melt butter and drizzle over top. Sprinkle on pecans. Bake at 350 for 1 hr. Let cool and serve with cool whip.

Everyone done with Christmas shopping? =)

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Craziness

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    I feel ya on the Kombucha. I tried a sample at Earth Fare once and didn’t like it at all! I like to try new and unique foods, but I won’t pretend to like something nasty, regardless of whether or not it’s cool in the blog world or if it has health benefits. I eat enough junk food anyway. I’m also doing the Charleston half in January and pretty excited about it.

    I’ve never seen bacon vodka but I would buy it for my husband if I ever did!

  2. jamiebug12 says:

    You almost died? :) I’m not forgotten.

  3. Whine Less says:

    Cookies party! Looks like a table full of happy!

Leave a Reply

