Pre-Marathon Things

Where to start? I’ve been keeping busy since my last race to prepare for the Kiawah Marathon.  I’m definitely starting to feel some burn out though. I signed up for this race last December when there were no plans to do a half ironman. But here, we are, one week out and I’m as ready as I’m going to be, so I might as well go out there and do my best!

The week after Savannah, I took a few easy recovery days (swimming mostly) before getting back into things. I didn’t really have too much trouble, which definitely makes me think that I didn’t race my hardest. After my last good half, it definitely took a lot longer. I had planned to do a ~9-10 mile long run the weekend after to get back into things, but it was dreary and gross all weekend, and I had zero motivation to run…so I did maybe 6. Eh.

I also had a groupon deal for CrossFit that I bought back in January (or so), so I took advantage of the down weekend to go to the required Elements class. I definitely used some muscles that I don’t normally use because I was so sore the next day, and we didn’t really do that much lifting and while it was 3 hours long, it was mostly standing around. I enjoyed it though.

I also did some swimming since I wanted to do the “Thanksgiving Workout” with the master’s team. I can’t usually swim with them since I don’t have a Y membership, but they opened up this practice to anyone, so I joined in the for 100x100s. I haven’t swam that far in forever, but apparently, I still can (though not completely without consequence. I strained my shoulder and couldn’t move my arm for the next few days. OW).  I also got in an 18 mile run, which was not bad considering I swam for 3 hours the day before.

I went home last weekend for Thanksgiving, so I did 16 miles in some very chilly (but thankfully, snow-free) weather. And then I ate EVERYTHING and it was great. It was nice to go home for Thanksgiving since I had to stay here last year.

Yesterday I did my last “long run” of 10 miles. It was a pretty good run, and luckily the rain cleared up a bit before we took off, since it looked like a monsoon outside the few hours before. Unfortunately, it still looking like rain this Saturday too. HUGE BUMMER. While it won’t be very cold, I’m not really looking forward to running another marathon in the rain, so I’m super selfishly praying for the forecast to clear up!

Still, all that’s left is to make it through this last week of taper without getting sick or injured! Here’s to marathon #3!

Anyone else racing this weekend?

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pre-Marathon Things

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Good luck with Kiawah! I will not be there, as I am on a committee for a 5K in Mt. P and will be helping with that (Otherwise I’d go spectate at Kiawah and just cheer my friends on). CrossFit is definitely crazy with using muscles you don’t normally use because every time I have done it I got really, really sore. Good luck with Kiawah and I hope it goes well for you, I’ve heard the race is great especially with the course improvements they put in place last year.

  2. mdrukarsh says:

    It is -16 Celsius here with the wind-chill, not too many races coming up! First race for me is March 30, 30k Around the Bay in Hamilton Ontario. Good luck at Kiawah!

  3. kilax says:

    Aww man, what a tough race! I would say it was the humidity, hands down! Way to go on powering through!

Leave a Reply

