Thank Goodness for the Long Weekend?

Or not…since I have to work on Monday. Big Bummer. On the plus side, at least I won’t be working working. We’re going on a “team bonding” trip to watch an Atlanta Braves game.  So while I won’t be doing what I really want to do (running, going to a cookout, or sleeping), at least it won’t be terrible.

Speaking of running, I’d been having some really bad shin splints starting early last week.  Long story short, I ended up going to physical therapy last week and he basically told me that it wasn’t a huge deal, but that I needed to not run again until I see him again. Next Wednesday.

So of course, the moment he says that, I MUST RUN. It’s been so hard! Luckily, he said that anything else was ok, provided it didn’t hurt.  I think his intention was that I rest for the week, but rest is boring!  Since I’m a bit of a group fitness class addict, I had plenty to do this week. My gym has a bazillion (or so) class options to go to including a whole line of those Les Mills classes (Body Pump, Body Combat, etc, etc.) And since none of them are excruciatingly difficult, I can usually double (or triple) up classes to fill up time.

So, my schedule for the week.

Sunday: Body Attack, Body Pump  (I planned on swimming, but the pool was crowded)

Monday: Short 3 mi run, Went to PT (told me I shouldn’t run), Body Pump

Tuesday: Swam about 3000 yds, Body Combat, Body Pump

Wednesday: Had a work meeting run really late, so I missed the swim I had planned. Book Club tonight!

Thursday: Body Pump, Body Attack, Spin (This was the 45 min spin instead of a long one)

Friday: Body Combat, Swim about 3000 yds, Body Pump

Saturday: Body Pump, Body Attack, Body Combat, then we rode bikes about 18 miles for lunch

Here was lunch:

Cuban Sandwich with Apple Gorgonzola Slaw

It was really outstanding.  We had some ice cream too, but seriously, I felt that it was well deserved.

Of course, my next task was to prepare for my next meal, right?  I found this recipe on Pinterest a few weeks ago that I wanted to try for a Goat Cheese and Shrimp Pasta.  I know not everyone loves goat cheese since it has a very different flavor, but I love it.

Here's my mess

It kinda looks gross, but it turned out to be really tasty. I did make a few modifications, though.  I thought it needed more cheese, so I put a few more ounces of goat cheese in it.  Also, I had some salmon fillet laying around, so i threw that in there too. I also tried quinoa pasta for the first time, but I guess I couldn’t taste any difference with all the goodies on it.

The result of the mess

Also, I found this recipe for some skinny mashed potatoes made out of cauliflower. I don’t really love cauliflower, but I was feeling adventurous, so…

I made a few changes to this one too.  I used orange cauliflower, just because that’s what they had a Whole Foods.  It also needed more cream cheese =)

I made some funfetti cupcakes too, just because:

yay cupcakes!

Then I chilled out for a while with my favorite local beer, Son of a Peach, brewed right here in South Carolina!  I had a friend text me to go out, but I was so tired, I passed out on my couch watching Psych before I could go.

Sunday was a pretty great day too.  I was lucky enough to be able to go to church today! Did I mention that I love my church?  It was awesome.  We had a guest speaker today who is a Chinese-Austrailian guy and he absolutely cracks me up.  The message was about remembering that the best is yet to come =)

Then I went out to the pool for a while and headed to the gym for some good times.

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Workout Madness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank Goodness for the Long Weekend?

  1. Seasonsgirl says:

    Atlanta Braves game… I am jealous they are my team… I hope they win and you have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

