Meatless Thursday?

I hope everyone had a great 4th!

Mine was not much to talk about.  A bunch of my friends headed downtown to enjoy food, fun, and fireworks, but I was just exhausted.  So I headed over to my friend’s house so I wouldn’t be totally anti-social and we sat out at the pool all day and had a mini cookout.  It was super relaxing, but I was completely wiped out before 8 pm, so I passed out instead of watching fireworks.  Lame, I know.  I watched the Greenville fireworks the last 2 summers, and while it’s definitely fun, it’s kind of a stressful experience because you have to find a place to park, a place to sit and then it takes FOREVER to get out of the parking lots. I just didn’t really feel it this year.

 

So anyways, Thursday. NO WORK AGAIN, yay! Not that I don’t like work, I just like days off too. I got up Thursday and headed out for my run (short 3.1 miles). That was nice, then I did a Body Pump class, since I clearly can’t get enough.  Then I decided I wasn’t nearly tired enough, so I took off again around lunchtime for a class I’d never tried before.  It was called Intense Body and I have no idea how to describe it. We ran, we did weights, we did stairs…more running…more stairs. No, it was fun.  The worst part was when she had us do a plank walk/pushup thing across the gym floor…my shoulders are still sore! Ow. Oh, I did Body Attack too, just because it’s fun.

In between all this, I was eating.  I kept snacking on my Baked Oatmeal that I made a few days ago (it is still delicious re-heated).  After Intense Body, I decided I wanted to try a new burger place down the road from me. It’s called Metro Brurger, and I guess it’s kind of like a Five Guys or a Fudruckers, but with more choices.  Apparently their specialty is a Southwest Veggie burger, so I got that and consumed it immediately! It was so good, I forgot to take a picture.

At this point, I realized I hadn’t eaten any meat during the day.  This is pretty unusual for me since I’m a meat eater, really.  I like bacon.  But everyone says you should try going veggie, so I decided to continue on with my no meat eating just for the day.  Snacks were not a problem since I still have a huge pile of veggies leftover from the 4th, but when dinner rolled around, I realized I was in trouble because all of my leftovers were pasta dishes with lots of meat. Meat, meat, meat.  Uh, oh.  I was really hungry.

I bought some sprouted grain bread last week just to try; turns out, it’s pretty good.  So I had toast!

With Jelly!

Maybe not the dinner of champions, but I needed to eat.  I boiled the rest of my eggs too, since they were expiring (I’m pretty sure they were in my fridge for at least a month) and ate a few.

I’m looking forward to getting back to work and a normal (eating) schedule.  All these days off have messed me up big-time.  But it’s been fun.

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

