Hot and Humid!

Whew! Actually, it wasn’t that hot today, just really humid

I headed out for a 10 mile run this morning, and man was it sticky.  I took off around 6:45, so I could get done before it heated up too much and by time time I was done, I was completely soaked.  I really didn’t even run that hard! Here’s me:

Yuck

You maybe can’t tell from this picture, but my shorts are completely soaked through! I’ve never had this happen before, but it’s really uncomfortable.  I know it’s not just the shorts, because I ran my last half marathon in them with no problem. Blech.  I’m loving the shoes, though.  They’re super lightweight, and feel great.

In other news, I got to try a new class at the gym today!  They’re getting ready to launch the Les Mills CXWORX class so I guess the instructors have to film themselves teaching to get certified or whatever.  This instructor has been begging us all week to come try it out because I guess they have to have some people actually attend the class when they film. So I caved.

Anyways, this program is a core strengthening class, which by that I guess they mean abs and butt, because my butt hurts! It’s only a half hour, but it incorporated alot of different stuff, crunches, planks, one-legged squats, and leg extensions.  Some of the exercises used resistance tubing and a few used a hand weight (I used a plate from Body Pump).  It was tough, but no overwhelmingly hard, so I liked it. I would definitely recommend it!

After I got home from the gym, I made some dinner!  I decided to stick with something simple after the brownie mess I made last night. Classic Sausage, Beans, and Potatoes:

You’ll need:

1 Smoked Sausage – normally I use Hillshire Farms Polish Kielbasa, but I wanted to try their Turkey Sausage, so I grabbed that

Green Beans – Canned, Frozen, or Fresh will work.  If you get fresh, cook them first.  If canned or frozen, you won’t have to

Potatoes -Today I used Dutch Baby Potatoes because they were on sale, but any kind will do. You’re going to chunk them up anyways.

Salt and Pepper to taste

First, boil the potatoes.  Be careful not to overcook them! Potatoes vary in cooking time, so check them every few minutes with a fork.  If they are relatively soft, they are done! If you use whole potatoes, it takes forever, so if you’ve got big ones, chop them up first.  The baby potatoes can wait until after they are cooked.

Next, slice up the sausage into 1/2 inch (ish) slices and brown it in a big skillet.  I put a little olive oil in the pan as well.

Potatoes and Sausage!

Once you’ve got the sausage browned, add in the green beans.  I used Trader Joe’s frozen today =)

Defrosting is not necessary!

Let this cook on Medium-high until everything is hot.  Then add in the potatoes!

Done!

Add in salt and pepper as you wish (I don’t use alot because I think the sausage is plenty salty) and you’re done!

I love this recipe because it’s astoundingly easy and really tasty.  It definitely gets better with a few days in the fridge because the flavor from the sausage kinda seeps into the beans and potatoes and makes it really tasty =)

Enjoy!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Running, Workout Madness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

