Back with lots of good cooking!

Wow, I’ve been so busy, I have so much cooking deliciousness to catch up on!  Also, running activities, but that will have to come later!

Last weekend, I had some friends and family come visit and it was just nonstop! I’ve been so exhausted, I just needed to catch up on sleep, but the Olympics are on! It’s totally messed me up.  Now that the swimming is over, I can sit and blog and watch everything that I skipped to watch the swimming events.

Oh, let’s talk about the swimming! Since I swam competitively for 12 years, I get pretty excited about Olympic swimming.  It’s just so impressive! It kinda makes me feel insufficient =)  I turn into a total basket-case when basically anyone wins (especially the women, because they always look so much happier than the men).  When Missy Franklin won the 200 back (and got a WR), I just bawled! I couldn’t help myself.  She’s just adorable.

Anyways, here’s what I’ve been cooking up lately:

 

This dish I found using StumbleUpon like forever ago (well, it was in college).  It’s, um, super delicious.  The recipe calls for heavy cream, but I usually substitute half-and-half so it won’t be quite as bad for you.  I think whole milk would probably work too, but anything less might be too watery.  I also substituted quinoa (2 cups uncooked) this time for the bowtie pasta because I had some laying around.  The quinoa was good, but I think I prefer the pasta.

Next up: Chicken and Broccoli

 

This is a crock-pot recipe, but I had some pre-cooked chicken, so I made it in my trusty skillet. It’s definitely the most-used tool in my kitchen. Pretty tasty.  I had the sour cream in my fridge from something I made a few weeks ago and I had stuck it in the back…and it froze! Ooops.

On to…Quinoa Black Bean Casserole

 

Oh yes.  This was a home-run meal.  The sweet potatoes in it really make the dish.  So it’s like a sweet and spicy dish.  Yum.  I added onions to the mixture and for the salsa, I got pineapple, because it’s my favorite.  I think the salsa made it even better because it enhanced the sweetness of the sweet potatoes.  I would definitely make this again.

I also made this Lentil Soup.  I didn’t take a picture, but that’s ok, because I didn’t love it.  I kept having to add spices to it to give it more flavor.  Also, I don’t love lentils, but they’re healthy, so you should eat them!

For dessert: Cake!

This was a good one too.  I overbaked it a little bit, but it was still really tasty and super duper easy.

 

That’s all for now!

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

