August Blogger Challenge!

I’m pretty new to blogging so I’m still looking for ideas on things to write about.  I stumbled upon this challenge while browsing some other folks’ blogs, so I decided to jump right in! I’m a few days late, so I’ll just start in with day 6.

20120728-000729.jpg

But first!  A few fitness things, since I’ve not posted about that in a while.  Still pushing on with the marathon training!  Ran 12.25 miles on Sunday, and it was definitely one of my better long runs in a while.  I think I might *finally* be getting used to the heat, because I ran it around my last half-marathon pace, which was in April. So I felt pretty good about it.  I tried to go to Body Attack later, but for some weird reason, my stomach decided to act up, so I had to do alot of the low impact options so I wouldn’t show everyone my lunch. Gross.

Today, after work, I raced to the pool because I really wanted to get a swim in and it was going to storm later on.  I got in a pretty good swim:

800

Swim    

4×100

Kick

2:10

 

8×50

Free/Back

1:00

 

3×200

Pull

3:40

<- I’m a super slow puller

4×50

IM Order

1:00

 

4×50

Fast Free

0:55

 

2×200

Easy Swim    

3000

Total    

This was in the 50 m pool, so the intervals are a little slower than I might usually swim.  I threw in the last 2 200s because I wanted to get to 3000 m, but I was tight for time since I wanted to go to Body Pump.  Good timing too, because the moment I walked outside to my car, it started pouring!  So I hustled off to the gym, and enjoyed Body Pump, as usual.

Then I came home and had this tasty sandwhich:

 

Onto the challenge!

The theme for the day is “Highs and Lows from the Past Year”.

I feel like I can think of way more highs that lows this year.  It’s been pretty great.

Highs: I got a promotion, after only a little more than a year with my company, so that was great. I did the Disney Princess Half Marathon and got to go to Harry Potter World for the first time! I moved into my first apartment and made a lot of new friends here in SC! I did 2 half-marathons, 3 sprint triathlons, and numerous other short runs, so I think I can say I’ve officially been converted from a swimmer to a runner!  I also learned the joy of group fitness in the last year, yay! I’ve been very blessed.

Lows: This has really been a good last 12 months for me!  There are always some down days, like when I feel super bummed because I’m single or whatever, but most of the time, I really love it because my time is all mine!  I did gain 20 lbs during the holiday season of 2011, so that kinda sucked.  I felt really bad about myself, but then I was able to kick it in and lose it all by the time I ran my half marathon in April! Oh, also, I pulled a rib muscle after Thanksgiving because I had a super-cold or something. That is very painful.

 

Any highs and lows that the masses want to share?

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

