Baked Goods Galore!

I hope everyone had a great Labor Day! I’m traveling for work today, so I’ve got some time to kill.  It was rainy pretty much all day yesterday here, so I just hung around my apartment and did some work.  I was dying to go for a run because in between the storms it was really nice and cool, but I figured I’d better let my foot rest.  I’ll probably go for a swim later or do Body Pump and stay low impact for another day or so, just to make sure.  I really don’t want to hurt myself!

Since I didn’t have anything to do yesterday, I did some more baking!  I also watched the Olympics.  Yes, I’m still watching the Olympics.  I like to watch everything, so I recorded it all on DVR and I’ve just been making my way through it.  It’s sad, I know, but bear with me.  I haven’t even watched the closing ceremony yet.

Peanut Butter Fingers posted this recipe for Double Chocolate Protein Bites that I really wanted to try!  Looked in the fridge.  One egg left, and I had plans for that one egg.  Was I going to let that stop me from making these? Heck no!  I didn’t have any pumpkin either.  Sweet Potatoes? Close enough!  I modified this recipe alot, so here’s my ingredients list:

  • 1 c almond flour
  • 1/2 c protein powder (I use Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 1/2 T cocoa powder
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 2 T corn starch
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/4 c mashed sweet potatoes
  • Splash of almond milk (the mix was too dry)

This totally worked:

A note: if you don’t have one of these scooper things, go get one NOW!  It is one of the handiest tools in my kitchen, and is worth having, especially if you bake alot of cookies.  You can get one for like $5 at Target or Bed, Bath, and Beyond, or something like that.

My protein bite:

You could definitely taste the banana, but it was still really good.  I would want to try this again with the original ingredients list. I baked them for about 9 mins at 350, and that gave  them the chewy consistency I was looking for.

I also made another loaf of the banana-zucchini-avocado bread. Since I only had 1 egg, I had to modify this one too. Here’s my ingredients list:

  • 1/2 c oat flour (I had some leftover from the zucchini muffins)
  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1 mashed avocado
  • 1 shredded zucchini
  • 1 egg (the whole thing)
  • 2 T corn starch
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 2 t stevia
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • Big handful of dried cranberries

Since the recipe was modified, it didn’t need to bake as long.  I think I took it out at 30 mins (at 350) instead of 45.  It’s much denser that the original recipe, but very good.  I like it better with the cranberries instead of the blueberries.  I wonder if chocolate chips would be good…?

Day 4 Topic: My typical training week

Honestly, I don’t have a good routine.  It really depends on my work schedule, social activities, and what I’ve got going on during the weekend.

So, here’s the deal.  I’m training for a marathon right now, and my half-marathon training looked pretty similar.  I only run 3, maybe 4 times a week.  Two runs are during the week, between 3-6 miles (one is usually speedwork), and the third is the long run, which I do Saturday or Sunday. This works best for me because it keeps me from overdoing it on the running when I’m training for a race.

I fill the rest of my week with cross-training.  I try to do Body Attack twice a week, because it’s a great workout and I just love it. I usually go to Body Pump 3-4 times a week, but sometimes I’ll switch those out for Combat because it’s more fun.  I also try to get in the pool at least once a week.  It sounds like a lot, but it really isn’t.  Rest day is either Monday or Friday, depending on how I’m feeling.  Sometimes on my rest day, I’ll go to the pool and do a super duper easy swim, maybe 1000 m, just to stretch out my body.  I always feel better afterwards =)

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Running, Workout Madness. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baked Goods Galore!

  1. I really have got to do some cross training once I get healthy. What is combat?

  2. Just realized you are a transplant too.
    I am also Indy to SC:)

    • yay! I feel like there’s a lot of us! I actually have two friends from high school that moved here too. Weird.

      Body Combat is another Les Mills program…I guess it’s a kickboxing style cardio class. It’s a ton of fun!

  3. Your baked goods look so yummy! Especially the bread. nom nom nom.

    Great variety in your training plan! You can read about mine here.

  4. 1 – Those protein bites and bread look so good!!!! 2 – It’s good you are mixing up your training routine. A lot of runners just run and neglect their upper bodies. (Uh…I was guilty of that…)

    Here is my (very tardy) training schedule for bodybuilding: http://sheslosingit.net/2012/09/11/blogger-challenge-4-my-training-schedule/

    Lisa
    http://sheslosingit.net

Leave a Reply

