Day 7 and Race Season

Unfortunately, I’m out of goodies to share =(  So, we’ll go back to running!  I’ve been taking it easy this week since my foot has still been bothering me, but I headed out for our weekly Lululemon Run Club last night!  We ran 3 miles, and it was probably the hottest 3 miles I’ve run all summer! It must have been 90 degrees and like 90% humidity!  It was so muggy, but it was good to run with the group.  I also tried a new class at the gym!  It was a circuit class that included abs, weight, suicides, stair runs, jump rope anda mini spin session! It was a crazy hour, but I really liked it.  It’s a morning class (5:30 am) and apparently they don’t get a lot of newcomers to the class so everyone was super friendly and wanted to meet me.  It was kinda awesome and I will definitely go again, as much as I can.

Day 7 topic is about Your Favorite Strength Move.  Mine is definitely the squat.  I love the squat because it works so many different muscles in one move!  And there’s so many different variations! Jump squats, one legged squat, bosu ball squats…and on, and on.  I prefer the traditional weighted squat, but that’s mostly just because I’m most comfortable with the exercise.  It’s great for running, too!

Speaking of running…I realized it was time to start looking at other races to sign up for as we head into race season!  I’ve been so focused on my marathon that I haven’t even though much about doing any other races, but I know I’ll need something else to train for to keep me running. Running season here is more of a November-March season because the winter is so mild here, so there a lot of races during the winter to choose from.

I’m officially in for:

marthon logo

I’m going to do the half-marathon at Kiawah Island in December.  I wasn’t going to do this one originally because it was kind of expensive, but one of my friends through a meetup group I’m a part of decided that she wasn’t going to be able to run her race, so she offered her entry to me.  I found out that the other girls going had a villa on the island for really cheap, so I changed my mind.  I’m excited for this one because it will be a flat race and the island is really beautiful!  It’ll be a mini-vacation weekend race, so it should be fun!

I’m also in for:

Charleston Marathon

I wasn’t going to do this one either, but one of my work friends wants to do her first half-marathon and she suggested this one because it’s on her birthday.  So I agreed to train for this half marathon with her and we would go together. It should be fun.

One more definite:

GHS 5K Course

I was thinking about doing this one this year, but I chickened out.  I’m definitely going to do it next year! The race is net downhill, which is impressive, considering it’s in Greenville.  I love running events at home, so this will be fun.  I’ve almost got a few friends talked into it as well!

A few other options:

I would be crazy to sign up for this race, which is why it’s so tempting!  Now that I’m going to do Kiawah, I’m leaning no just because it’s the weekend before and this would be a tough race.  Maybe next year.

 

 “Race to the Top

This one would be pretty crazy too, but why not?  Table Rock is gorgeous! It’s a trail run race, which I’ve never done before, but I’d love to get into it!  There’s a whole bunch of them around here.

Asheville Marathon

This one is a little pricey, but it’s at Biltmore! *love*

North Carolina Half Marathon Logo

Just an option.

Augusta Half Marathon

This one is close enough to be a day trip, could be fun.

 

The OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini Marathon

A re-hash of my first half-marathon?  It depends on how our Europe trip planning goes, but I will definitely do this race again someday.

 

Princess Half Marathon

Just wishful thinking 😉

 

I really won’t run all that many races, I don’t have that much money or time!  But I think it’s a good idea to be familiar with races in my area for the future.  That way I can try lots of different races!  I know some people love to run the same course year after year, but I think I would get bored…unless it was Disney every year 😉

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Running, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 7 and Race Season

  1. Jill says:

    Looks like quite a wish list! I’m in for the Princess Half this year (first time) so hope you able to make it down for that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

