20 Miles

Today was the big 2-0.  What a daunting amount!  I was really excited/nervous for this run because it’s kind of a milestone in my marathon training  Luckily, I headed outside today and it was absolutely beautiful out!  Nice and cool, but sunny.  I was so happy through the whole run because it was just so nice outside!

Good Morning!

It’s actually starting to feel a little like fall (well, for the south).  I felt so good during this run.  It was amazing what difference the weather can make! There were tons of people out today, so it was good to everyone’s smiling faces! =)

No, I’m still not really fast, but this was a great time for me.  I think it makes up for the terrible 15 miles I had a few weeks ago

Also, something weird happened.

Where did that guy come from?? I don’t run that fast in a 5K, let alone the last mile of a 20-mile run.  Weird.  I don’t really watch my pace during my run, since I’m really focused on just finishing this race.  As long as I’m beating the 6-hour finishing pace (not too hard), I’m good.

While I was running, I spent some time thinking about what kind of pancakes I was going to eat when I got home.  I do this alot.  I was thinking that I wanted Coco Wheats (since I love Coco Wheats), but I wanted pancakes too….Coco Wheat Pancakes! YES!

YES

This was exactly what I wanted!  It probably didn’t need syrup on top…but I put syrup on there anyways.  Whatever.

Steph’s Magic Coco Wheat Pancakes: (makes 2 big pancakes, or maybe 4 small ones)

  • 1 cup Coco Wheats
  • 1 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 3 T sugar (or substitute your sweetener)
  • Dash of Salt
  • 3/4 c Milk

If the batter is too thick, add a little more milk.  These cook more or less like regular pancakes, but keep a close eye on them after you flip them because the second side cooked fast.  The one thing I would do next time is let the batter sit for 20-30 mins to let the Coco Wheats soak up the milk a little.

I wanted more, but I’m out of Coco Wheats! Crap.  Luckily, my mom is coming to visit this week and she is going to rescue me from my Coco Wheats deprivation, since apparently it cannot be purchased in this state. Bah.

I want to share what I did with the rest of my day yesterday, but it kind of deserves it’s own post, so I’ll post about it tomorrow.

Onto the topic of the dayDo you workout by yourself or with other people?

It depends on what I’m doing.  For my long runs, I kind of prefer to run by myself because I like to run at my own pace.  If I run with someone who is too fast, I die, and if I run with someone slower, it can be frustrating.  I also kind of cherish the quiet time.  It can be a little boring, but for the most part, it’s very relaxing.  For short runs, I like to run with other people since it gives me a chance to push myself or just have some social time.

Obviously, I’m into group fitness, so there’s lots of people there.  You tend to make friends with the people that you’re in class with alot.  Also, I have zero motivations to do any sort of interval training or hard weights by myself, so having access to these classes is a huge help.  I’ll go to class where everyone else is bustin’ it, but I don’t want to do it on my own.

Any differing opinions?

Any more pancake ideas?

 

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Life in General, Running, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 20 Miles

  1. I like to work out by myself. Time away to be free with my own thoughts. I sometimes run with my spouse and that is enjoyable too, but for the most part, it’s on my own. Great training run btw…way to go! Happy Running.

Leave a Reply

