Marathon Training in Canada

Hello again!

I’ll be heading home today, but I’ve got a little downtime, so I figured I’d sit down and write for a bit. I’ll probably have to finish later, but whatevs…

Sunday is normally my long run day, so I figured I would ask around for some good places to run since I needed to run 21 miles.  I got some direction from the ladies at Lululemon and from some folks at the Running Room, so I packed up my Camelback on Sunday and took off.  This was not by any means a fast run. I stopped to take *a lot* of pictures and I wasn’t feeling super great.  Being off my normal eating schedule/food has messed me up big-time!

Anyways, I headed out to Point Pleasant and ran around the park for a while:

Lots of sightseeing to do here!

Prince of Wales Tower

Runner friends and the ocean!

Moving on…the next stop was Halifax Seaport.  They had several cruise ships come in over the weekend, but here’s the big one!

Here’s just some random island

And me looking like a hot mess (in my new shorts!)

Running on….

Yea, that’s where we’re headed.  That bridge kicked my butt.  I went across, but there wasn’t much of interest on the other side (Dartmouth), so I ran back across.

At this point I was at about 12 miles and I was not feeling good at all. Since I ran 6.3 miles the day before, I figured if I could get to 15, I could probably call it a day. Yea, I know it’s cheating, but I was really wiped out. So, I  headed back into downtown and ran up the hill to the Citadel (another butt-kicking)

From the top

People say the best way to explore a new city is to get out and run, and they are totally right! I definitely got to see more of the city than I would have any other way! Even though I didn’t get quite the mileage in I wanted, it was still a good time.

Anyone have the opportunity to explore somewhere new on a long run?

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Training in Canada

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    I just moved here 4 months ago so pretty much all my runs have been exploring the area, long or short. But long runs definitely give a great chance for that, this past Saturday I ran in downtown Charleston which was beautiful and really awesome for a long run too. I enjoyed it! Running is definitely the best way to get to know a new city :). I’m glad you got your long run done even being in Canada, that shows dedication!

  2. The area is super pretty, but your shorts are amazing. Love them!

Leave a Reply

