More Canada!

Don’t worry, this is my last one! After my Sunday long run, we all went back to the airport to pick up one of our co-workers who had to fly up on a commercial flight. Turns out, they left his luggage in New York! This turned into a big fiasco and his luggage ended up going to Montreal and didn’t make it to Halifax until 10 the next day! And they wouldn’t even refund his baggage fee! Geez, that’s Delta for ya. I *never* fly with them if I can help it.

Anyways, we stopped for lunch on the way back at this super random place:

Chickenburger! Haha.  It was kinda mediocre. I had a chicken burger, but it was basically a BBQ chicken sandwich with no barbecue sauce. We got back to downtown and I was still hungry, so I wandered off to find some ice cream.

Found some! It claimed to be “Canada’s best ice cream”. I was dubious, but I wanted some ice cream, so I got some

I got a scoop of mocha-almond-fudge ice cream and it was pretty darn good.  While I ate my ice cream I wandered past this War of 1812 memorial.

There was a plaque with some facts about the war of 1812 on it…definitely a different perspective!  Apparently some parts of Canada still talk about the War of 1812 alot, which surprised me since it was barely a blip in my high school US History class! Who knew?

Also, I found a pirate ship!

Haha, just kidding. Apparently this is a refurbished trading ship from the 1800s that is now a museum and a tourist attraction. Kinda cool.

I also found this huge cannon! It is a memorial to firefighters, I think.

I walked up and down the waterfront for a while until we had planned to meet up for dinner.  We went to this place near our hotel called the Wooden Monkey.  I really liked this place! They served organic/free range food with alot of vegan options as well. The food was *outstanding*.  I would highly recommend it to anyone who is visiting Halifax. I had the lamb burger, but I tried one of my co-worker’s pizza and it was awesome too.

At the top it says “A restaurant with a conscience”. Love it. I was weirding my coworkers out with all my picture taking, so I stopped =)

Anyhow, the next few days were work days, but I was able to get some shorter runs in before we left. One particularly good one…

I was really moving during mile 4 there! That’s really fast for me!

Another random thing:

How cute is this little liter of chocolate milk!? I got a kick out of it. 😉

Well, I had a great trip, but it’s good to be home!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Canada!

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    That ice cream looks super tasty. I haven’t had an ice cream cone in awhile, maybe I will have to get myself one soon… I do have a free coupon for my birthday, hmm… :). Thanks for the temptation! Canada looks so pretty, I’ve never been there so I think it’s neat you got to travel there and run there. Pretty different than SC!

  2. Look like we are about the same running pace:)
    Also I love mocha everything so that ice cream looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

