Broccoli-Slaw Stir Fry

Happy Friday everyone!

Before we dive into my random dinner, I want to talk a little about the rest of my week! We got back from Canada early afternoon on Wednesday which gave me some time to grab some groceries, check my work email and head to the gym. I figured since I’d been running every day for the last 5 days, I needed a change, so I went to BodyCombat and Body Pump (which now had a CXWorx tacked onto the end). This is not a workout that’s totally unusual to me, so I figured I’d be fine, even though it had been a week since I’d been to Body Pump.  Everyone says a week off doesn’t affect your strength training. I DISAGREE! Goodness sakes, I’m so stinking sore! I though I was going to die during Body Pump! I haven’t been this sore from Body Pump since the first class I went to! And then CX…torture. *shudder*  I’m just trying to get back in the swing of things, so I’ve been abusing myself at little at the gym this week.

Oh! I wanted to share this little gem I found at Trader Joe’s this week:

Yea, Red Pepper and Eggplant Dip.  They had it at the tasting station on a cracker with some goat cheese! SO GOOD.  I grabbed some immediately. I’ve been eating it on celery and carrots (double veggie whammy!).  The nutrition facts are really nice, too.

Moving on to another food topic, I wasn’t feeling leftovers for dinner tonight, but I had thought ahead enough when I was at TJ’s to grab a bag of broccoli slaw. I was inspired by the Fitnessista’s spicy almond butter sauce because that sounded good, but I wanted something cooked.

Ingredients:

  • Bag o’ Broccoli Slaw
  • ~1/3 c almond butter (drippy is easiest)
  • ~1/4 c almond milk
  • ~1/4 c TJ Sweet Chili Sauce
  • 1 tsp chili powder (optional depending on how much spicy you want)
  • 2 T honey
  • 2 T minced garlic
  • Pinch of salt
  • Enough Toasted Sesame Oil to Stir-Fry in (olive oil would probably work too)

Put everything in a wok or a big saucepan and turn the heat up to medium-high.  I would take the term “stir-fry” pretty lightly because the almond milk kinda just boiled down.  Let everything cook down for 10-15 mins until the sauce is thick and the broccoli is soft. I topped mine with sliced almonds:

You could also mix in some chicken or pork for some protein and that would be pretty good, I think. Fitnessista suggested chickpeas as the protein. Pretty tasty!

For dessert, I had leftover peanut butter cake that my mom made for me.  We found the recipe on Pinterest! Here it is.

I think that’s my mom’s arm there…

Anyone got any super exciting weekend plans?

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broccoli-Slaw Stir Fry

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    That slaw looks really tasty :). I love Trader Joe’s, it’s one of my favorite stores and we have one here so I like to go in there and look at random stuff and buy stuff hehe. I always spend so much more than I intended, though!

Leave a Reply

