First CrossFit WOD!

Hi there! I hope everyone out there is having a great weekend!

This morning, Lululemon Greenville hosted a Crossfit WOD with CrossFit Greer!

Here some scenes from the morning!  The team showed us how to do the moves and then we did the workout.  It was 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.  Maybe not very imaginative, but functional! You do 10 burpees, 10 thrusters, 10 sit-ups, a short sprint, then start over with 9 of each…and so on.  Turns out…burpees are hard. It was definitely a butt-whoopin’, even though it only took like 10 minutes. We had a pretty good-sized group, so it was a lot of fun! I don’t know how people do stuff like this on their own.  I would’ve given up after the first set of burpees if I were on my own!

I headed out to pick up some groceries a little later, and was greeted by the first rounds of winter squash!I know the big thing around the healthy living blogs these days is pumpkin, but my favorite is acorn squash!

I baked that bad boy up! The easiest way to cook an acorn squash is to cut it in half (a challenge in itself), place it facedown in a pan with a bit of water and bake it at 350 for about 45 mins. Then I fill it with goodies:

Hah, I guess that kinda defeats the purpose of eating a healthy squash.  I put butter, brown sugar, maple syrup and some pecans in the cavity and ate it. It was awesome.

I also cooked up a butternut squash, a spaghetti squash and a sugar pumpkin (for fun) for later. I used the pumpkin in this recipe for Pumpkin Oat bread, which is pretty good.

A side running topic, I have a funny shaped head, which means that I can’t get headbands to stay on my head.  Hats don’t fit me very well either because they’re always way too big =(  I heard about Sweaty Bands from another blog, so I figured I’d go check one out.  I found some in stock at a dance apparel store called the Sock Basket in Greenville. The ladies there swore to me that it would stay on my head and if I had problems with it I could return it. Fair enough!

Skeptical Steph is Skeptical

I’ve had it on all afternoon and it hasn’t fallen off once! I’ve not done any running, but I’ve been cooking and cleaning and such, so that’s promising! We shall see….

Anyone else have any headband recommendations?

 

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Running, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First CrossFit WOD!

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Yay for your headband not falling off! My favorite are Bondi Bands, especially the sweat wicking ones. Plus they have cool sayings on them, and you can wash them when they get super sweaty. I’ve done CrossFit a few times but that workout sounds intense- and yeah burpees are crazy tough too! But great job for getting through it 🙂

Leave a Reply

