Last Long Run

before the marathon! Hooray! I’m so relieved to have this run out of the way.  It’s all downhill from here!!

This was definitely a tough run, mentally.  There was some rain last night, but by the time I was ready to head out, everything looked clear and the sun was starting to come out.  I got about 5 miles or so out and I started to hear some thunder.  I didn’t really think anything of it because I knew the storm from earlier was still not too far away.  But then it thundered again…and again…and then BOOMM!!  There was some lightning and some really loud thunder. Holy !!!!! is what I said, so I turned around and ran like crazy!  And about 2 minutes later (for icing on the cake) it started POURING down rain. Well crap.  Luckily, I had the foresight to pack a plastic baggie, so I stopped and stuffed all my electronics into it, and hustled off to find some shelter. Of course, by the time I found a bridge to hide under, it had more or less stopped raining.  At this point I was totally soaked.  I stood under the bridge for a few minutes while I decided what to do.  I could go on in my wet shoes and risk the thunderstorm again, or I could head back to to my car to get some dry clothes and try again later. I decided to head back towards town and decide from there.

I got  back to downtown and decided to drop by the bathroom there to see if I could dry my stuff out a little.  The bathroom there has one of those jet-engine hand dryers, so I figured I could dry out my socks pretty quickly. Which I did.

At this point, it looked like it was going to stay mostly clear for the next few hours.  I was a little over 9 miles in at this point, so I headed back out the trail.  This was so hard for me.  I had mentally prepared myself to run out and back, and for some reason, having to turn around early really messes me up.  So the next 6 miles were really miserable for me (though at least my feet were dry).  I was so relieved when I finally got to turn around for the second time.  I was good up until the last 1.5 miles or so, but at that point I was so determined to finish that I just kept going. It hurt, but I finished all 23 miles =)

I took a nap when I got home, and once I woke up I lay in bed for almost an hour trying to motivate myself to get up! I’m so tired!

Poor Wet Mizunos

Also, I bought some new clothes the other day!

Lululemon, of course.  Up there is the Star Runner Jacket that I wanted so badly while I was in Canada and the Run Inspire II crops.  I love that jacket so much!! It is so soft and comfy. I had originally bought a pair of Wunder Under crops, but I realized later that they don’t have a drawstring! This won’t work for me, because it I lose any weight at all, it will come off my waist (not my butt/thighs, bah!).  The crops I bought last year from Old Navy (that I love) no longer fit around the waist =(  I’m going to have my mom help me put a drawstring in them, but the moral of the story is that I won’t buy any more bottoms without a drawstring.  The running crops have a drawstring, and are also very comfortable =)

While I was downtown yesterday, I decided to walk around for a while and enjoy the city.  Did I mention that I love Greenville? It really is a pretty awesome place.

They turned the fountains pink for Breast Cancer Awareness Month:

Yay!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Last Long Run

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    The fountain reminds me of how in college people would put tubs of kool aid and food coloring in ours to turn it different colors. But that’s awesome that the town did that!

    Glad you got through your 23 miles. My longest run has been 13.2… but I guess running a marathon you really have to increase distance… and I like looking at your shoe collection, hehe! Drawstrings are nice if the clothes get a little big but unfortunately my cute mizuno shorts are now too small, bleh! But yay for lululemon and new clothes for running, especially before a race (I have been loving the under armor outlet lately… lol)

    • Steph says:

      haha, yea I have a lot of shoes =) The under armour outlet is the best! I found some really great stuff a few months ago on the clearance rack!

  2. Corey says:

    Wow…we really must have only missed each other by seconds! The huge loud clap of thunder scared us too!!! Thankfully it was right when we hit the turn around point and we knew we were headed back to the car/home instead of further away from shelter!! Great job on getting it finished!

  3. Josh says:

    To dry wet shoes it helps to crumple up newpaper and stick it inside of the shoes!!!!!! It works amazingly.

Leave a Reply

