Today’s Embarrassing Gym Story…

You know, I’m surprised there haven’t been more of these, considering what a clumsy fool I tend to be.  I’ve had so many minor injuries due to crashes, falls, and running into walls, but so far never anything really serious. Lucky? Blessed, I think.

So, today.  I’m going to make up a story to tell my co-workers tomorrow so I don’t feel as much of a dummy. They’ll know better.  But I’ll say…”man there was this fight at the gym last night…you should see the other girl!”

Or something like that.

Anyways, what really  happened.  I was doing Body Pump today because they were launching Pump 83 and I wanted to see it, but I did no weights on the leg tracks to give myself a bit of a break.  It was a good release, loved the music.

So at the end of class, I picked up my bar to put it away, slipped on my mat that was on the floor…and…

WHAM!

Right in the face with the bar! Ouch.

Luckily (unfortunately?) one of the instructors saw and came over to make sure I was ok, and to get me some ice for the fat lip I was about to have. Thanks to him for not laughing at me too much!

I was more embarrassed than anything else, but my lip was bleeding like crazy, so someone who was near to me grabbed me a clean towel too so I wouldn’t bleed all over the floor and helped me pick up the rest of my stuff. I was pretty flustered, so hopefully I didn’t say anything silly to anyone!

When I got home and pulled myself together, the first thing I thought was, “how am I going to eat with this thing??” It’s not too easy.  I had to eat dinner on one side of my mouth to try and avoid the big cut in my lip.  Luckily, no serious harm done; I’m pretty sure my pride was damaged more than anything else.

Anyone else have any embarrassing stories to share to make me feel better? =)

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Workout Madness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today’s Embarrassing Gym Story…

  1. Corey says:

    Yikes! Sorry about that. What? No pictures?! 🙂

  2. Amy Lauren says:

    Aww, hope it gets better soon! I fell down the stairs at my parents’ house once and busted my lip open, it was a summer when I was home from college. not fun at all!

    • Steph says:

      Oh no! I’ve actually done that before too, and I had to get stitches! At least I’m not the only clumsy one out here =) thanks for sharing!

  3. In the lunch room Tuesday, slipped on something legs up in the air, boom on the floor in front of a packed lunch room. Stuff like that happens to me all the time. It’s not just you.
    Glad you feel okay.

Leave a Reply

