Last Marathon Worries!

Just 5 days away now! I’m so excited, nervous, not sure how I feel. Yikes!

Yesterday I went on an 8 mile run, and let me tell you, it felt so good do a long run that wasn’t in the double digits!  I ran with Katie who is training for a half marathon! It was a great run =)

Today at work, I was totally in brain fart mode all day. I just couldn’t seem to get my brain engaged at all, and every time I would walk out of my office I would completely forget what I was going to do.  Also, my computer got the blue screen of death, so that was bad.

Anyways, I was going to take a rest day today, but it was so nice outside, I couldn’t stand to sit around, so I went for a walk!

So gorgeous out! I love fall, except that it makes my nose drip.

Also, I *finally* got my hands on this book:

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

FINALLY! I’ve had it on hold at the library for like 3 months (because I’m too cheap to buy it), and there were probably 60+ holds on it!  I’m going to want to finish the whole thing tonight, but I’d best not. Boo for having to get up early in the morning.

So, now that I’m down to the last days before the marathon, I have to start thinking about the details! So many silly little things to worry about!

1) Should I make a new playlist? I hate doing playlists because they’re a pain in the butt, so maybe I’ll just buy a few new mixes from Rock my Run. Any song suggestions?

2) What should I wear? It was easy when it was hot, but now it’s pretty borderline cold in the morning, but later in the day it’ll heat up to 70…weather confused!

3) What should I eat the day before? I’ve heard you should lay off the fiber and dairy before a race…but I can’t give up my beloved milk! Did I mention that I love milk? Also, I have no pasta in my house, and mac and cheese sounds really good right now.

4) Should I carry my Camelback during the race? I’m used to wearing it, so that won’t be a problem, and it makes it easier to carry snacks/phone/water, but it would be nice to not have to carry it. Hmm….

Any other last minute tips?

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Marathon Worries!

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Bah for blue screen of death!

    As far as dairy before the race goes… I say don’t change anything. If you’ve had milk the day before your longer runs, keep drinking it. Same with fiber. Contrary to popular belief fiber affects people differently too, just like milk. The main thing is not to try anything new, but I know if I gave up fiber for 2-3 days before a race it WOULD NOT be a comfortable race for me AT ALL… but I know my body and know from my doc that I actually need extra fiber. TMI, I know but we’re runners, nothing is truly TMI.

    I usually err to the chilly side on races and running clothes but sometimes a throwaway sweater is good… goodwill or the salvation army is your friend, hehe. I have had times when I bought one and didn’t wear it and other times I wore it the whole race practically and took it off toward the end just because I didn’t want an ugly finish pic!

  2. I say stick to wait you have tried on your trial run and take cheapo throw away clothes from Goodwill that you can toss at the start so you are warm while you wait.
    I am all about teenie bopper books so of course I have read Divergent and Insurgent. I refuse to buy it to so I made my running buddy buy it and then let me read it;)
    Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

