New 5K PR

 

 

I planned to do an 11 mile long run today, but one of my NewSpring friends’ 40th birthday was this past week, and he wanted to break 30 mins in a 5k as a kind of “birthday present”.  He and his wife were doing a 5K today (to benefit Leukemia and Lymphoma Society), so I decided to come run with them and help pace B. to break 30 mins.  I did a practice run earlier in the week during a 4 miler just to make sure I actually could (did 3.1 in around 29 mins).

So I decided to do an 8 mile long run in the morning, then run the 5k to make 11 total. So I set off on my long run this morning planning to go easy so I could do well on the 5k later, but I just felt *really* fast.  I just kept pushing my pace and I reached the half-way point at about 40 mins.  On a whim, I looked at my watch when I reached the 10K point and saw I was at 1:02!!  My best 10K (back in March) was a 1:09, so I pretty much blew that away. I still felt pretty good towards the end and finished the 8 miles in about 1:19, which is way faster than I’ve ever run!

I was so happy, I even took a picture of myself, which I never do because I look like crap after a run. I also stuck my finger over the lens because that’s totally cool.

So when I headed to the 5K this afternoon, I was riding on a pretty good high from the morning run.  I met up with my friends and grabbed my packet (got a long-sleeve shirt, love those). I had to debate my clothes a bit because it was windy and a bit chilly, but then the sun came out right before the race start so I could go jacket-less.

The race was at Furman, so it was pretty easy to get there and find parking. While packet pickup and the race course was pretty well organized, the start line kinda wasn’t.  Really, there wasn’t actually a start line at all, we all just stood in a big group somewhere and everyone just took off. The course was just a loop around Furman’s campus, and for those who are familiar with the campus, we did have to run up that big hill on the lake path. =)

We took off at a pretty quick pace (at least in my mind), and my friend was able to keep up with me for the first 2 miles, but fell behind a little during the last mile.  I really felt like I was pushing myself, but I was trying not to watch the clock and obsess over the time.  When I reached the finish line, my distance was kinda short (3.02), so I kept running past the chute until my watch turned over 3.10.

WOO HOO! I’m so excited by this time! I can’t believe how much I’ve improved in the last year! All 3 of my mile splits were under 9 min/mile, and it’s just kind of a great feeling to actually be passing people in a race instead of getting passed by the walk/runners.  It feels so good to improve so much in only a few months! My last PR was set at the Michelin 5K back in August, so I really wasn’t expecting to do this well at all!

My friend came in about a minute behind me, around 27:13, so awesome job to him! His wife also got a PR =) So, I’m very glad I went to this race. Plus, it was for a good cause.

I love Garmin for this.

I’ll take it =)

Anyone else have any awesome races this weekend?

 

 

 

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New 5K PR

  1. Katie says:

    You go girl!!! That is such an amazing time for both your 8 miles and 5k!! Are you planning on doing the turkey trot? If not, you can join me for a thanksgiving morning run. Let me know!

  2. Run Eat Travel says:

    Found your blog through Run Eat Repeat. Congrats on the shiny new PR!

  3. Wow. Great 5K PR.
    Now please send me your amazing jacket and put a jar of PB in each pocket:)

  4. Corey says:

    Loving the hot pink! I just got a saucony long sleeve dry fit shirt in the same color. I don’t have a rain type jacket…probably should invest soon! CONGRATS on the 5k PR! That hilly at Furman is a beast so that makes it even more impressive!!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Way to go on your 5k!! That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

