Obligatory Thanksgiving Post

Seriously, though, I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!

Mine was a little unusual since I wasn’t able to head for home for this Thanksgiving. First Thanksgiving away from home. =(

While I was bummed out that I couldn’t go home to visit my family this year, I got at least 4 invitations from friends to celebrate Thanksgiving with them! It’s nice to know my Greenville friends are looking out for me =)

Anyways, I had made plans to head over to my friend J.’s house to have Thanksgiving dinner with her and her mom (and her doggies)

Awww.

We had a full Thanksgiving menu (which is a lot for 3 people), but everything was outstanding. I’m not going to share recipes for everything, but I share the recipes for my contributions to the dinner.

First, turkey!

Yup, it’s a turkey breast.  Pretty standard.

I also made Oriental Cabbage Salad, which I cannot live without during any major holiday.  It’s definitely a staple at my family gatherings.

Oriental Cabbage Salad

Ingredients

  • 2 packages of Ramen Noodles (throw out the flavor package)
  • 6 oz sliced almonds
  • 1 oz sesame seeds
  • 1 lb chopped cabbage (I buy bagged mix)
  • 1 bunch green onions – chopped
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. vinegar
  • 1/3 c. oil (canola oil works best)

For the crunch topping:

Crunch up the ramen noodles into small pieces; this is easiest to do before you open the package. Brown in a small amount of butter or oil with the almonds and sesame seeds. Drain and cool.

For dressing:

Bring sugar, soy sauce, and vinegar to a boil in a small saucepan and remove from heat.  Add oil.

Mix cabbage and green onions in a large bowl.  Just before serving, add crunchy topping and dressing and mix together. The best way to make this easier is to make the topping and dressing the day before, then dump everything in a bowl just before you eat.  It’s delicious.

Next was dessert, my favorite =D

J. has a sensitivity to cinnamon, so most standard desserts were out.  That’s ok, because we like chocolate and this recipe for Death by Chocolate  was screaming to be made.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box brownie mix (bake according to box)
  • 3 envelopes of chocolate Mousse Mix (or chocolate cool whip)
  • 12 oz Cool Whip
  • 8 Heath/Skore Bars- crushed (or Heath Baking Chips)

Layer everything in a trifle dish.  I usually layer Cool Whip, Brownie, Chocolate Mousse, with a big sprinkle of Heath in between each layer. I don’t have a trifle dish, so I put it in a big storage container.  It made for easier transport anyways.

We had a great dinner and took the dogs for a short walk afterwards to start the recovery process =) I also put up my Christmas tree, but it’s not finished!

This morning I went to the gym to get a pre-shopping workout in.  They had a special class with 30 each of Attack/Combat/CXWorx, which was a pretty good butt-kicking. Normally I wouldn’t go shopping on Black Friday because I *hate* shopping in big crowds and I especially hate driving in heavy traffic. BUT Express was having a 50% off everything sale and I had a $50 gift card that was burning a hole in my pocket.  It was super busy, and I had to stand in line for 45 mins, but I got my half price dress!

Not a great pic, but I got the dress and another top and paid $2…score!

I spent most of this afternoon doing some cleaning and also cleaning out my closet a little. I definitely had some clothes that needed to go!

Oh yea, like these khaki capris…that were at least 2 sizes too big.  I bought these during the summer after my first year of college. They were fitted when I bought them and kinda tight by the end of that summer. Now they’re falling off! It made me feel really good.

I don’t weight myself very often, but it seemed like every time I’ve done it in the last 6 months or so, that number on the scale just hasn’t budged at all.  It’s kinda depressing.  I kept telling myself that I was for sure toning up because I definitely felt stronger and thinner.  I really try not to obsess over it, but it can hard and definitely frustrating.  I think that trying on alot of my old clothes really confirms that I’m a lot more muscle than I was 6 months ago! The jeans that I couldn’t wear in February are now a perfect fit and the ones that I was wearing then are too big!  It feels good to know that all my hard work had paid off. =)

Anyone else get any good scores during Black Friday? Or did you hide out at home?

 

 

 

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Obligatory Thanksgiving Post

  1. Katie says:

    Super cute dress! I gt a great deal on a christmas tree! Had to go out at 4:45 to get it but it was worth it. Lets hang out soon!

  2. Amy Lauren says:

    I like the dress, glad you got a good deal on it even though you had to brave Black Friday for it, that’s a good deal at Express so I don’t blame you to go, especially with a gift card! I also went to the gym and they had those 30 minute classes too, I did spin and body flow and the 45 minute body pump.

    Your Thanksgiving looks fun and that dessert looks delicious :). I have brownie mix and some coolwhip, so I might end up making something like that soon. Would I just use one container of chocolate coolwhip instead of the mousse mix?

    • Steph says:

      I need to try Flow…I’ve always stayed away because it’s yoga-stuff, but everyone says it’s a good class! Chocolate cool whip would definitely work!

      • Amy Lauren says:

        I love yoga so I liked body flow, that was the first time I’ve done it. The yoga instructor was out and I think we had to do Flow because that’s what this instructor is certified in, but it was close enough for me. It’s a bit faster than yoga

  3. The dogs are adorable, any excuse for chocolate dessert is fabulous, and OMG your dress is amazing! I love it!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I love the dress!! It looks so good on you and it is really pretty!!! I didn’t go out on Black Friday until that evening. Regan & I went to REI, they had 50% off all REI brand outerwear!

  5. Corey says:

    I am glad you had a great Thanksgiving! The black dress is SUPER cute and very flattering 🙂

Leave a Reply

