Snow Day

Happy Snow Day, everyone!

At least, for me. Yesterday on the news, we were presented with this:

blizzard warningOh lovely. My plan was to head back to SC on Thursday, so this could make things difficult.  It started snowing at about 6 am this morning and it is windy as crap.  It’s not snowing very hard, but because it’s so windy, the snow is drifting and visibility is *really* low.  I think all flights out of Indy are cancelled today and pretty much everything in the area is closed. Yuck.

snow

So we’re all staying inside today, hoping the weather will improve by tomorrow! I may do an “at-home” workout a little later, but it’s been nice to rest a little bit.  I did mean to run a little more than I did, but I’m definitely a little bit fair-weather runner. Since I traveled last Wednesday, I decided to take the day off, but the weather was terrible on Thursday and Friday (more snow).  I found a gym in the area that offers Les Mills classes so I did some this week and a few at-home weight workouts.  We have a treadmill, but it’s 15+ years old, so it tends to overheat when you run on it long. I got a (chilly) 10 mile long run in on Christmas Eve, which was really tough because I had to keep a close watch for ice on the road.

Other than that, this week has been really relaxing and it has pretty much been the best thing ever.  I finally got around to finishing some books:

1Q84

This was one wacky book. I don’t know how else to describe it, really. I picked it up because it seemed like it would be science fiction, which is my kind of thing, but I’m not sure.  It’s one of those books that you’d have to read several times to get, but it’s like 800 pages long, so good luck with that.

I also finally read Gone Girl, since everyone raves about it.  I’m always skeptical of this because critics tend to love books that I generally hate, but this one was pretty good.  I liked it up until the ending, which I didn’t like at all, but I won’t spoil it for you.

I’m also working through The 4-Hour Workweek.  I read about it in Wired magazine last month, so I figure I’d check it out.  A lot of it is pretty pointless to be because I have exactly zero “entrepreneurship” drive, but there’s some great tips that I could use to be more productive at work that I plan to implement (like tips to get out of pointless meetings, as so many are ;))

We obviously had some Christmas fun as well.

IMG_20121225_165119I bought my dad bacon-flavored vodka for Christmas, so he made vodka martinis for Christmas dinner. Bacony. He said it was good in a bloody mary too =)

Some new toys:

IMG_20121225_164629This is my dad’s too. Nearly endless helicopter fun! We got my mom a Wii so she could play Wii Fit.  I got it for Christmas last year and she kinda loved it.

I got some nice fitness related gifts:

IMG_20121226_102112

I asked for the running shoes and I’m so glad I did because the running stores are stocking the Wave Elixir 8 and I really like the ones I have now (Elixir 7). My sister got me a Carthage swim cap, and my mom bought me a nice pair of compression socks.  I know everyone love Pro-Compression, but these Zoot socks are *nice*. I also got a few movies since I haven’t been buying movies (or going to see them, for that matter) lately. I hadn’t seen the Bourne Legacy yet, so I’m pretty excited to watch that.  I love those movies.

Random Question: Who only likes the corner pieces of brownies??  I got these from my grandma:

Chocolate Chip 1 Pound Bag

At the bottom it says “no more fighting over the corner piece”. Does anyone actually do that?? The general consensus in my family is that the center piece is the best! We always fight over the ooey-gooey center piece. Are we weird? I never want to eat the corner piece. I did a search and found this:

Apparently this is common enough to warrant a pan that has only corner pieces. My opinion? You are all strange people.

Anyways, everyone stay safe out there! And if you’re in a place with good weather, just go ahead and rub it in 😉

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow Day

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    I’ve seen those pans where all pieces are corner pieces- I actually like the middle pieces the best and always fought over those growing up :). I hope you get back to SC safely and it’s good you managed to get some workouts in, but also took some time off for the holidays because you do deserve it and family’s definitely more important than a run :).

    I have those same Mizuno shoes and they’re amazing. You’ll really like them! Super lightweight but still cushy enough for half marathons so it makes me happy. At first I thought the colors looked too much like Clemson but it’s more blue than purple :).

Leave a Reply

