2012 in Review

I know everyone’s posting one of these, but I’m going to write on anyways. I feel like 2012 just kind of disappeared when I wasn’t watching.  Or, as my boss says, “We’re running out of days!”. We’re always running out of days, so there’s nothing really to worry about.

It’s so easy to forget about all the things you do every year, I’m all like “what in the world did I do last year???” So anyways, I’m going to dig back through the disaster of a “My Pictures” folder on my computer and try and figure out what in the world I did all year. It must’ve been interesting because I seemed pretty engaged the whole time.

I can’t find any pictures from January, so I want to say I didn’t too much.  I feel like I was preparing for an upcoming trip/race.  I think this was the month my friend J. bought her new house (yay!), so we spent some weekends painting and such. But that’s ok, because in February…

disney1We went to Disney World for the Princess 1/2 Marathon! I really love Disney World. This was my first 1/2 marathon since 1998, so while it wasn’t technically my first, it kind of was. We took a bunch of blurry race photos:

disney CollageAnd then spent the next few days in the parks.

disney2 Collage

And you’d better believe that I bought a wand at Harry Potter world. A few days after I got back, I ran the Reedy River 10K, and thought I might die. 1:09.22

Also, I apparently decided to blow all my vacation in the first few months of the year because I spent a week at Seabrook Island (Charleston area) a few weeks later. We spent most of the week on the island, but we went to downtown Charleston one day because my family had never been. We spent part of the day at Fort Sumter.

charleston CollageAnd we saw this alligator:

IMG_5150It was obviously lost because this was in the ocean, not in the river.  There were some kids on the beach terrorizing it, but I was more inclined to stay away.

Next up (probably), the Greer Earth Day Half Marathon. I didn’t write a race recap on this, but I’m not so sure I would do this race again.  It was seriously hilly, and they ran out of water at mile 9, and no water at the finish because they gave it all to the 5k and 10k runners. Also, it started 30 mins late, which for a race with less than 500 runners, is pretty bad. Also, this was the finish.

IMG957477

Ug. I ran a 2:32.23, which we think is faster than my 1998 race, so we’ll call it a PR and just go with it. Right after this, I lost my mind, signed up for the Spinx Marathon, and started a blog.

I went headed home at the end of May for my sister’s graduation:

IMG_20120601_182706

And over the summer, I just did a variety of things around Greenville (and a few trips to Charleston): Artisphere, Greek Festival, Atlanta Braves game,  saw the Lion King musical, and went on some really super sweaty runs.

summer2012 CollageI ran the Simpsonville Sunrise 8K in June for the first time in 50:07. I also got a 5K PR at the Michelin 5K in August, with an official time of 29:00. This race didn’t really have a chip time (they just collected the tags at the finish), but my watch was 28:27. Either way a PR (previously 31.23 from SRF 2011).

Spent a week in Canada:

IMG_0740

Went to Biltmore with my mom:

IMG_0283

RAN MY FIRST MARATHON! (5:12)

Fullscreen capture 11252012 94207 AM

Camped in the mountains (sort of):

IMG_20121103_141716And finished off the year with two more PRs! 25:36 at the LLS Turkey Trot at Furman and 2:10:41 at the Kiawah Half Marathon.

kiawah5For some reason, my shirt kept sliding down during that race…awkward. I did a ton of other stuff this year. Overall, it was a pretty great year. I made a lot of new friends. I made HUGE improvements in running. I’m looking forward to 2013.

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2012 in Review

  1. trueindigo says:

    What a great year; congrats on that first marathon! Here’s to 2013 being even better!

  2. That Disney race looks like so much fun!! And I loved the photo of you “dying”! haha!

  3. Amy Lauren says:

    Way to go girlie, you did make a lot of running improvements especially the PR on those hills up there- Charleston is definitely FLAT as a pancake and that helps for PRs here, I will say that. Love how you did the Disney race, looks like you had lots of fun there and everywhere else you traveled. Let me know if you’re ever in the Charleston area and we can get together for a run 🙂

Leave a Reply

