Resolution Run Recap

Two words for you.

Hilly. Humid.

I signed up for this race a few weeks ago because I thought I’d be clever and do 13 13.1’s in 2013.  I wouldn’t normally pick a race like this the week before a big race (Charleston next weekend), but I figured I could just run an easy pace and not worry about time.  I knew going in it would be really hilly, but I didn’t plan to be sick, and I *definitely* didn’t plan for it to be hot as balls in January.

I feel like this has happened for every long race I’ve done this year! It’s really strange, but on every day of a big race that I’ve done (except for Disney), there’s been a heat wave, and it was really unseasonably warm.  Since it’s been pretty chilly the last few weeks, I was definitely not ready for 70 degree weather and 80%+ humidity! I was sweatin’ buckets.

Plus, there were bugs. So I kept catching bugs in my sweat, which was super gross.

Anyways, the race. The morning started out nice:

IMG_20130112_073008It rained all day yesterday and last night, so the ground was still very wet and it was foggy and humid.  I’m very grateful it stopped raining, though.

Packet pickup was available Friday night, but I didn’t want to drive all the way out to Travelers Rest twice, so I just went a little early this morning to get my packet. It was pretty painless; the whole even was very well organized. Since the event started around the high school, there was plenty of parking (and real bathrooms!!).

Since I got there so early, I had plenty of time to wander around and get warmed up a little.

PicMonkey CollageThe race swag was really nice. We got a long-sleeved tech shirt that’s really good quality (though it doesn’t fit me great) and they had these ceramic mugs that were for the age-group winners (which wasn’t me!).

The race started right on time (at 9), and the 5K race was supposed to start a few minutes afterward.

So, the hills.  The course was an out and back, so I would get to experience the hills twice. The first half of the race wasn’t too bad. Really, up until about mile 8, I was at a pace to finish around 2:15 or so. Then there was:

Fullscreen capture 1122013 12237 PM2That. hill. was. death. That was pretty much the end of my race.  I was able to hold out for a little bit after running up that hill, but from about mile 9 on, I pretty much only ran on the downhills. My poor legs were just dead.  It was pitiful.

Luckily, I got some mid-race motivation! A couple of friends were out on the race course cheering for people right after a *giant* stretch of uphill. I definitely needing some motivation, so it was good to see them =)

PicMonkey Collage2

Anyways, I finally made it to the finish, in 2:28-ish, which is better than I could have hoped for considering how much I walked! Considering how little I ran last week because of being sick, plus the heat, and the tough course, I’m not too bummed about the time. I glad I finished! Instead of finishers medals, they gave out these ceramic coaster things:

IMG_20130112_115253

I like it! So, overall, the race was pretty good. It was well organized, there was plenty of water and Gatorade on the course, and good snacks post-race. Just make sure you’re into hills.

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Resolution Run Recap

  1. Katie says:

    Thanks for treating us to lunch!! You pulled it out for that race, it looked so tough!

  2. Corey says:

    It was SO humid last Saturday. I was running in my sports bra at the end! Crazy…I can’t even imagine having raced that day!! Good luck in Charleston this weekend!

  3. It was horrid this weekend. I tried to get a 12 in and yikes it was HOT! So proud of you for running in the heat through those hills.

Leave a Reply

