Brown Baggin’ It [WIAW]

I decided to do a What I Ate Wednesday today! It probably won’t be something regular because what I eat every day is pretty boring.

Peas and Crayons

But I take my lunch to work every day, and I don’t have a lot of resources there (i.e. no fridge), so everything I want for lunch and snacks, I have to bring with every day.

So:

IMG_20130123_055535This is the haul. I generally try to get everything ready on Saturday or Sunday by cutting up fruits and veggies and putting my food in containers.  That way at 5:30 in the morning I don’t have to scramble around for food; I can just throw it all in my purple lunchbox and go. It looks like alot…and it is.  I get hungry during the day, and I’m usually not very hungry for dinner after I get home, so I eat most of my food at work.

In the pile: Navy Bean Soup, Yogurt, a grapefruit, and apple, a few clementines, a mini cucumber, some carrots, a banana, a Cliff Bar, and a little cheese wedge for the cucumbers.

Also, I’ve been feeling oatmeal for breakfast lately, so I made slow-cooker oatmeal on Saturday and put it in individual containers.

IMG_20130123_080609

I also take a bottle of water and some tea (I can refill the water at work pretty easily)

IMG_20130123_055905And coffee, of course:

IMG_20130123_055900I ate everything except the carrots today…I wasn’t feeling them.

For dinner, I had a small sweet potato (cooked in the microwave) and the rest of the navy bean soup (it was really good, my mom made it).

IMG_20130123_194413And that was my day! More or less. I had a handful of tortilla chips and a few glasses of milk as well.

I also went on a 5 mile run today in 45 mins, which felt really good! I have to start getting back into marathon training next week, and I want to do well, so I need to definitely start picking up the pace some! I also went to Body Pump afterwards =)

Also, there was a Groupon for a discount on Kind Bars (I think you can still get it), $10 for $25, so I bought it and got a Kind Cube with it. It showed up today.

IMG_20130123_193029I opened it and…Woah!

IMG_20130123_193036The way it opened scared the crap out of me! But it has some flavors in it that I’ve not tried before, so that’s cool!

Anyways, enjoy the rest of your week!

Edited: Here is the link to the groupon deal if you want it!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brown Baggin’ It [WIAW]

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    I saw that Groupon, but I’m not a huge Kind fan, so I didn’t buy. I did just buy one for a meal out though… cheap date night at least. I also won a giveaway from Clif, so we’re good on bars for quite some time… 36 clif bars in the hizzouse!

    Glad you got a 5 miler and bodypump in… that’s amazing so quickly after a half! I did pump but only ran an easy 3 that morning. Now I’m just resting before Saturday.

    Judging by your WIAW, you eat pretty conventional foods just like me. Oatmeal, fruit, sweet potatoes, chobani, coffee, water… it’s nice to know someone doing that link up also eats boring, lol. Ironically I ate most of those today too…

    • Steph says:

      Haha, I do like Cliff Bars too…but I eat them like candy bars! It’s bad. I try not to be boring with my food, but it’s hard when you have to work! So oh well. Good luck this weekend!

  2. What an awesome pkg to come home too 🙂

  3. raceready says:

    Kind bars are good and can be soooo expensive, awesome to find a deal on it!

  4. I take my lunch to work too, but also have no fridge or microwave access so I always have to try to pack creatively and healthy too. I agree that it an be tough sometimes.

  5. P says:

    I don’t like packing/eating at school, but I know I probably should make the effort when it comes to my long days :P!
    Your food haul looks nutritious and filling!

  6. What a great day of planning ahead! Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

