Honey Bun Cake

Happy Monday! I hope everyone out there had a great weekend!

This weekend, my gym did a “Super Launch” of all the Les Mills programs where they launch them all in one day, which is pretty intense.  I went to do BodyPump, Step, and Attack on Saturday and did Combat and CXWorx on Sunday morning. Combat is super popular, so I knew it would be less crowded Sunday morning, and it was definitely a good idea since I was totally wiped out after BodyStep.

The new BodyStep is crazy hard! Usually it’s not that bad so I figured I could handle 3 classes. Luckily, Attack was not as hard (or maybe I just slacked off), but I think I’m still tired from Step! It was kind of awesome. The new BodyPump is pretty good, and I liked the new CX as well. (Geez, there’s a lot of classes)

Anyways, I also went for a short-ish long run of 6 miles on Sunday.  I meant to do more, but I just wasn’t feeling it (probably because I was tired, duh), so today I went to the pool to swim and give my legs a break.

I also went to a friend’s bridal shower this weekend.  It feels like they just got engaged, but now they’re getting married in just a few weeks! So exciting =)

Ok, so the cake.  My boss asked me to bake a cake for a co-worker’s birthday today, and while I don’t want to become the official office baker or anything, I decided to be nice and make one.

This recipe is from an old church cookbook, and I hadn’t made it in a while, but it’s really good.  It’s almost like a coffee cake…except not. (The cake is a lie)

 

Honey Bun Cake

First, I will provide a Crappy Picture

Honey Bun Cake

Ingredients For the Cake:

  • 1 package yellow cake mix (9×13 size)
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 1 big package of vanilla instant pudding
  • 4 eggs
  • 2/3 c. oil

Ingredients for the Topping:

  • 3 t cinnamon
  • 2/3 c sugar
  • 1/2 c nuts (I used pecans) chopped

Ingredients for the Glaze:

  • 1 c. powdered sugar
  • 4 T milk

Combine the ingredients for the cake in a bowl.  Pour into a greased 9×13 pan (Note: it doesn’t really pour…it just kinda globs). Combine topping ingredients and sprinkle onto cake mixture. Use a knife to swirl the topping into the cake. Bake at 350 for 35-45 mins. Remove from oven and immediately top with glaze.

The original recipe had an extra 1/2 c of sugar in the cake mix, but I took it out. It’s not necessary. Enjoy!

Well, I’d better go feed the cat. He’s giving me the stink-eye…

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Honey Bun Cake

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    That cake looks really tasty :). Good job doing all those classes, I can’t believe you did FIVE in one weekend… just wow! But the classes are really fun, we only have bodypump and CX here (out of those you listed, we do have BodyFlow and spin as well). I’m excited to try the new pump tomorrow night myself.

  2. Corey says:

    Holy moly! That is a lot of workouts in one weekend!!! You are killin it!

  3. Looks delicious! And great job on your workouts!

Leave a Reply

