The Cake is A Lie

Ok, so not really. But I ate a lot of cake this week, and it was oh so good (but now I don’t feel oh so good).

So here’s what I’ve been up to this week.

It started with a celebration:

A Bride-to-Be and her cupcakes

A Bride-to-Be and her cupcakes

I ate alot of these cupcakes. We ate them for breakfast. I’m not kidding. At least we went for a run:

IMG_20130202_092802Just not in the lake. The lake was cold. Though, we were all ready to take some canoes out until it started randomly snowing, then we decided that maybe wasn’t a good idea. So we did Zumba instead.

IMG_20130202_103358

She’s awesome. I suck at Zumba, but it was still fun. I wouldn’t want to do it all the time, but I can see the appeal now that I’ve tried it.

I also wrapped up this book:

Ready Player OneI

I absolutely loved this book. I had no idea what it was about when I picked it up at the library, it just was on one of the shelves in the front and I was in a hurry.  And it’s a bestseller, so whatever.

But it was about VIDEOGAMES! Sort of. It was just not at all what I had expected and I really like to be pleasantly surprised by a book like that. I could barely put it down.

I also like to listen to books on my commute to work.  A book can be totally ruined by a bad reader and yesterday I got one so bad I couldn’t even finish the first CD.

Under the Tuscan Sun

 

I heard it was good (I mean, they made a movie out of it), but I’m just going to have to get a paper copy. The reader was so, so bad. Don’t listen to it.

I also at a lot of bad food this week. People just kept bringing in pizza and donuts and things, and normally I can resist them, but this week, I just couldn’t! My diet this week has been terrible. I need to pull myself together tomorrow morning and get back to the good stuff because it is making me feel awful when I run (but it was delicious and I loved every bite).

So, on that note, I’ll leave you with a cake recipe that I made for someone’s birthday this week:

IMG_20130203_134526

 

Pudding Cake Bars

  • 1 box chocolate cake mix
  • 1 regular package of chocolate pudding (NOT THE INSTANT KIND) + milk according to directions on box
  • 1 c chocolate chips
  • 1/2 chopped nuts (optional)

Cook pudding according to directions on box. Remove from heat when done and let cool for 5 mins.  Stir pudding into dry cake mix until blended. Pour into a greased 9×13 pan.  Sprinkle chocolate chips on top.  Bake for 20 mins at 350. Don’t eat it all at once.

Easy, easy.  The only part that a pain is making the pudding. My arm gets tired of stirring after a while, but it’s worth it.

Happy Friday =)

 

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Life in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cake is A Lie

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    The pudding cake bars look pretty awesome and very easy to make :). And tasty… sure it’s not healthy, but we run all these miles, we can splurge a bit. And you did do Zumba, so it’s not like you did nothing all week :).

  2. The pudding cake sounds deliciously sinful. I have weeks like that too where I eat everything in sight and just cannot stop no matter what. I don’t know what causes it sometime… just get back on track and have a great week this week. Oh and next time just get the cake and cupcakes away from you, by sending them to me:)

Leave a Reply

