Running and Life, Lately

While my blog content hasn’t been reflecting it, I have indeed been running lately.  It’s now less than 10 weeks away Rock n’ Roll Nashville and I’ve been building mileage as best I can to prepare! I’ve got 2 races coming up in the next few weeks, which kind of puts a weird break in my marathon training, so I’ve been trying to build up as much as possible beforehand since I’ll be short on time afterwards.

Last week, I had a pretty solid 15 mile run. The weather was perfect and I felt great! Then I was in Tuscaloosa for work this week and managed to eat a ton and…not really run much. I got one 3 mile run on a treadmill and a decent run once I got back, but I really felt the poor diet choices yesterday during my 17 mile run. It wasn’t too terrible, but I was definitely not at my best. Also, it was really freaking cold! It was so hard to get motivated Sunday morning when my bed was so warm and cozy. I mean, it snowed on Saturday! It’s not supposed to do that here. 😡

IMG_20130216_143919

I’ve been training with Meredith which has helped the long runs go by so much faster!  She’s getting ready for half marathon #2, so  she’s just been meeting me after I’ve run a few miles so we can run the majority together.

Anyways, I’m planning to run 19 miles next weekend, and then I’ll have 2 race weekends.  The first is the Reedy River 10K, which will definitely be a PR race for me.  I did pretty bad last year (1:09), though to be fair, it was like 2 days after I got back from Disney World.  Still, I need some 10K redemption! I definitely want to finish under an hour, maybe an “A” goal of 55 mins.  It’s a fairly hilly course, but I’ve been practicing.

The weekend after is the GHS Half Marathon/Race to Greenville.  This is a good PR course because it’s net downhill (yay!), going from TR down the Swamp Rabbit to Greenville. I want to say I think I can PR, but we’ll have to see. Either way, I think it will be a fun race.

After that, I only have about 4 good weeks of training left, so I’ll have to make the most of it! I’ve also got a week of vacation at the end of March which will probably result in some shorter long runs, because who really wants to run 20 miles when they’re on vacation??

Other than that, not a whole lot going on. I did some serious cooking to refill my stock of freezer meals last weekend, but nothing really interesting. I got the cat a present:

And by present, I mean big paper bag

And by present, I mean big paper bag

Weirdo.  Yesterday I was doing some chores, so I threw on a movie. I do this alot just to have some background noise when I’m cleaning and such, and since I don’t have cable, I usually just turn on Netflix or grab a random DVD. Yesterday, I threw on The Lord of the Rings…which turned into a full day LOTR marathon. Oops. I just couldn’t stop! Also, the ending just tears me up every time! So sad. So happy. We were kind of obsessed with these movies in high school so it brings back a lot of good memories =)

Talk to me! Any cool races coming up? Any good movies I should watch next?

Edit: My sister’s conference swim meet was this weekend and she did a 58.8 in her 100 backstroke! SO PROUD!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Running and Life, Lately

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Woohoo congrats to your sis for beasting out her swim meet!

    It did not snow here in West Ashley but my parents got some and my friend who lives in Ladson, that is like North Charleston, got a few flakes. I don’t care though, I am not a snow fan. Hopefully your weather warms up a bit soon up there, it is definitely chillier in the upstate of SC than here! Glad you still got some running in and don’t feel bad about not blogging about it. Bad blogger usually means good runner lately!

  2. Kara says:

    I have that same problem with LOTR movies! I can’t just NOT watch them if they are on TV.

    I love how much fun cats have with paper bags. So easy to please!

  3. kilax says:

    Aww, love your cat in the bag! 🙂

    Yay for the upcoming 10K and HM!!! It sounds like you are ready to kick some bootay! I have a cool race in April – it’s a 10K/20K where you decide at the 10K point if you want to stop there or go on for the 20K! 🙂

  4. I do not think I could run in the snow. Props to you.
    I too am training for Nashville and have a 15 miler this weekend. My longest run in a very long time. Yikes.

  5. That unexpected snow last weekend was crazy! I was in Myrtle Beach and was NOT expecting to see snow! Sounds like some awesome racs you have to look forward to over the next couple of months!

  6. way to go on your long runs! Good luck on your next 19 miles=)

Leave a Reply

