GHS Half Marathon Recap

Yesterday, we ran the GHS Half Marathon “Swamp Rabbit Race to Greenville”.  I had really wanted to do this race last year, but I decided it was too soon after the Disney Princess Half for me to be ready, so when it came around this year, I was all set and ready to go. Here’s why:

Fullscreen capture 3102013 75956 AMNet downhill! And mostly flat the rest of the way.  The race starts in Travelers Rest and you hop on the Swamp Rabbit Trail and run to Greenville. It is a fast course.

We didn’t pick up our bibs on Friday night, so we had to get up super early Saturday morning since the race start was at 7:30.  Since it was a point to point race, we parked one car in Greenville so we wouldn’t have to ride the shuttle back to TR. The shuttle was offered, but at $10 a seat, we decided that was way too much.

It was about 40 degrees in Greenville when we left, so I had a long-sleeved shirt and crops, but when we got to TR, it was almost 10 degrees colder! We sat in the car right up to the start and even then my hands and toes were totally frozen! It took about 3 miles before I really got warmed up.

The parking situation at the start was kind of a cluster because there’s some construction going on, so hopefully they think that through a little for next year.  There were plenty of porta-potties and a bathroom with a few stalls.  I really didn’t want to use the port-a-potty, so I made Meredith wait in line with me for the real bathroom and we cut it a little close on the race start :/ We ended up taking over the men’s room (they can go in the woods anyways!).

The only real bad thing about this race was that the start was on a pretty narrow trail which made the race start really crowded.  The grass on the side wasn’t level either, so when someone ran me off the road (they just weren’t paying attention), I almost rolled my ankle and some guy right in front of my totally bit it. So that wasn’t so great, but after the first few miles, everyone spread out so it was fine after that.

Fullscreen capture 392013 111817 AM

After we warmed up on the first few miles, we kept a pretty quick pace (~9:30) up until about mile 9 when we both started feeling pretty tired. We slowed down for the next two miles, but I definitely caught a second wind around mile 11 when I realized I was going to PR if I kept it up! The course headed into downtown Greenville (and hills!)…and my iPod died! Bummer. Luckily we were almost done, so I focused on finishing strong

Finish Time: 2:06.21 Hooray for a PR!

IMG950872

IMG_20130309_105307There wasn’t much of an after-party going on and it was cold, so we grabbed some snacks and took off.

Oh, and the iPod that died?  I broke one of the “cardinal” rules of races: I didn’t charge my gadgets the night before. I figured it would be ok, but the iPod I’ve been running with is fairly new, so I’m still not familiar with how long the battery lasts.  I bought this iPod shuffle about a month ago:

IMG_20130310_130035

 

It’s so handy! I’d been running with my iPod Classic (the big one!) in an armband, which wasn’t so bad, but having all that weight on my arm kinda bothers my shoulder. I didn’t buy that iPod with running in mind. I’d been looking at some different MP3 players that were running-friendly, and most of them were $30-40, and this iPod was $50, so I decided to shell out the extra $10 for the simplicity of using an Apple products. I won’t be switching to an iPhone anytime soon, to be sure, but the Shuffle is very running friendly.

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to GHS Half Marathon Recap

  1. kilax says:

    Woo hoo! Congrats on the PR!!!! You rocked it! I love the medal 🙂

    I am running a course in April that has net downhill but with a few ups and downs… this is inspiring me to try and PR! 🙂

  2. evamadera says:

    Great job on the race! I ran it too and if the course had been the same length as my PR (my Garmin measured 13.23 for GHS instead of 13.02) I would have gotten a PR too!
    Isn’t running in Greenville great?

  3. Sounds like a great race – trail run, downhill, and a PR… LOVE it! Too bad it was so crowded before the people spread out a bit.

  4. Mary says:

    Well done on your new PR! That course profile looks amazing! Good job it was a point to point race because it wouldn’t have been much fun heading back up that hill! I hate race starts where there’s no room and I end up feeling all cloustraphobic and panicky. 😦

Leave a Reply

