Sunday Things

It’s Sunday and I’m tired, so I’ll keep this short and simple!

1. Get excited. Netflix now has old Cartoon Network Shows: Powerpuff Girls, Dexter’s Lab, Samurai Jack…I know it’s lame, but I loved these shows, and I’m going to be spending a lot of time watching these.

2. Ok, so what’s the deal with skim milk? The last few years I’ve drank skim milk because I drink *a lot* of milk. Like a gallon+ a week.  I used to drink 2%, but my doctor told me to switch to skim, so I did.  Then last week I went to grab the milk while we were on vacation and my dad made me get 1% because apparently they put some sort of nasty stuff in skim milk but it’s not on the ingredients list? I searched the internet and couldn’t find anything about it. Finally, I came across this post from Butter Believer. So…I don’t really know what to believe!! Are there any milk opinions out there?

3. Yay, new socks!

IMG_20130406_132316

Ok, so these are ridiculously comfortable (and very much on sale).  I got my REI dividend with a 20% coupon, so they were maybe $2. I took them out on my long run today and now  I want more! That’s the problem with nice things…you get spoiled by them.

4. Speaking of my long run, I finally got 20 miles in! Thank goodness.  It wasn’t a great run, but it wasn’t bad either.  I checked in my Garmin records and it was about 10 minutes faster than my first 20 miler, which was a really strong run for me way back in September.  So, that’s promising. I took the first 10 miles pretty easy then picked up the pace when I turned around and felt decent.  The only bad thing…around mile 15, my right butt-cheek started hurting really bad, so I stopped to walk for a bit until the pain went away. I ended up having to stop and walk a few more times because of the pain and stopped to stretch a few times, which seemed to help. I spent pretty much the entire afternoon stretching and icing, but it still feels tight, which is totally freaking me out! Anyone familiar with this type of pain?

5. Fun cupcakes!

IMG_20130407_183449

I used my new decorator which I found on clearance at Target and it actually worked pretty well! You never know with things that are cheap (it was less than $5), so I was impressed.  The frosting is Nutella flavored =)

Well, I hope everyone else had a good weekend!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Life in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday Things

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Nutella frosting? Yeah those are pretty amazing looking cupcakes!

    We drink skim milk- it’s what my husband always drank at home (I think due to his mom), although I tend to get soy or almond milk lately just to avoid the lactose. I think almond milk is really tasty and would honestly rather have that, but I have to buy him skim milk (yet he claims I’m the picky eater… hmm…).

    Old school cartoon network on Netflix? That’s pretty awesome, I didn’t even realize they had those shows :).

    • Steph says:

      I really like almond milk too, but it’s kind of expensive. I use it for cooking at lot since it doesn’t scorch as easily.

      • Amy Lauren says:

        Yeah, I found coupons on swagbucks to save 55 cent, and my store doubles those coupons, so I’m saving some money on it that way. But you’re right, it is definitely pricier!

  2. It could be lots of things in that area. If it keeps bothering you find a great doc who specializing in sports injuries for endurance athletes. I just found one today and everything he described matched up to my problems exactly. Now I know what my problem is which, even though it will still take a long time to fix, makes me feel better.
    Nutella frosting. Amazing
    20 miles – beast!

Leave a Reply

