Pre-Marathon Things

Happy Tuesday!

So, it’s now the last few days before the Country Music Marathon and I’m as nervous as crap.  I was definitely not this nervous for my first marathon and I’m not sure if that’s because I didn’t know what I was getting myself into last time or I really was better prepared.  I originally had set up a goal time for this race of 4:45, which is actually pretty reasonable considering the last few halfs I’ve run and the long runs I did before the GHS half. But since my running has been pretty pitiful lately, I’m going to try not to worry about it too much and just have a good time.  I’ll definitely be disappointed if I don’t make it in under 5 hours, since I was sure that I could have done that at Spinx in October.

Now I’m really into taper week and I’m really focusing on stretching (alot) and sleeping (as much as possible). On Saturday, my gym launched the new Body Pump and Body Attack, so I went and kind of used it as my last hard workout before the race.  I’m really bummed, because I like them both, and I won’t be going back to either of those classes for 2 weeks. I know it sounds silly, but they’re a lot of fun and I’ve made friends in class which makes them even more enjoyable.

I also ran 10 miles this weekend as my long run and it wasn’t…bad.  My legs felt really dead at the start (probably from Body Attack the day before!) but I started to hit a good rhythm around halfway and felt a lot better. No pain, so that’s good,  but my right hip felt tight still. Must stretch more!

Some other happenings…I got caught up on Game of Thrones

IMG_0781

 

Hooray for blurry pictures!

I made some cookies!IMG_0776

Oh yum.  I’ve always gotten a lot of compliments on my chocolate chip cookies…but I just use the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip package:

IMG_0787Maybe it’s just magic? Or maybe men are just easily bribed with cookies…

I also went out with some friends to a new rooftop wine bar in Greenville.

IMG_20130420_182006

 

IMG_20130420_174132The weather was really, really nice, so we enjoyed some wine and sunshine.  I like the atmosphere of this bar (it’s called Sip), but I hate buying wine at bars because it’s always way too expensive. Also, when we left (around 7:30-8:00 pm), there was a big line out the door, so going early seems like a good plan.

Anyways, that’s all! Have an awesome Wednesday.

 

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Food, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pre-Marathon Things

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    I want to go to a rooftop bar! We have a lot of them here in Charleston and I’ve never been, I just want to go so I can people watch and maybe watch a sunset or something. I will have to put that on my Charleston bucket list.

    Good luck with your taper and marathon. It is hard to miss out on things like classes you like bc of tapers and training and racing, but at least you’re finding things to do with Game of Thrones and baking. My mom always told me the best recipes were the ones on the packages bc they were tested so much and I guess it is true :).

Leave a Reply

