Summer Race Schedule

Hey there!

I know I said I was putting off signing up for a bunch of summer races until things settle down – this is still partially true.  It’s looking like things may be working themselves out a little, so I wanted to put out a tentative race schedule that will hopefully get me to a Half Ironman (and maybe fish some tips for completing one?).

I’m hoping that a change of pace for the summer will help me get to my marathon and half marathon goals for the end of the year.  I’m already signed up for the Kiawah full in December. I hadn’t picked a goal Half until this week, when all the RnR events went on sale  (love a sale), so I decided to pick Savannah. I hope it will be a good race!

So anyways, here’s what I have in mind:

6/15 Caine Halter YMCA Tri

I know this is this weekend, but I still haven’t signed up for it. I’m like 75% sure that I’m going to do it, but I have to decide by Thursday! It’s a 300 pool swim, 9 mile bike, and a 5K run, so distance-wise I’m totally prepared. I’ve just been putting it off. I have some friends that will be there so if I end up doing it, it should be fun.

7/7 You Go Girl Tri

I have already signed up for this one. I did it two years ago and really enjoyed it. It’s a short women’s-only tri, but it was really well organized. It seems like some of the women’s-only races have been getting some bad press around the blog world recently (for reasons I can definitely understand), but this was a good one. It’s only 250 pool swim, 10 miles bike, 2.5 mile run.

8/3 Lake Logan International

I’ve been looking at two International distance tri’s and plan to pick one. This one looks neat since it will be scenic (it’s near Asheville), but it will be ridiculously hilly. Mountainous. So I’m not sure yet. I still have a month or so to pick.

8/11 Greenville Tri

This is the only other one on the list I’ve done before. I want to go out and really improve from the last time I did it.  This is a sprint – 400 pool swim, 15 mile bike, 5k run.

8/31 Langely Pond International

This is the other international distance that I’m considering. It’s in Aiken SC, which is a bit of a drive, which is why I’m not sure. Asheville is closer, but this one will probably not be as challenging.

I also have two Half distance tri’s that I’m trying to decide between.  The Carolina Half is the last weekend in September near Charlotte.  It will definitely be the less expensive of the two, but it seems like it will be a smaller race.  The other is the Beach to Battleship in Wilmington. It’s at the end of October and will definitely cost more to do. But, I’ve heard a lot of really good things about it.  Any other recommendations would be welcome =)

So, that’s the tentative plan. Any tips for a HIM wannabe?

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Race Schedule

  1. Corey says:

    Lake Logan is an AWESOME race! It’s actually not hilly at all. Crazy right? It sits in a valley, so its shockingly the flattest bike I have done in a “local” tri. You go downhill on the way out and you have to climb that one little steep section back in, but it really isn’t bad. The run is slightly uphill on the way out…almost not noticeable, until you turn around and you are flying on the way back. The water is VERY cold though, so you will want a wetsuit. Not everyone wore them, but I was super happy to have mine. I highly recommend this race, but its a bit of a drive in the middle of nowhere, so unless you want to get up at 3:30 a.m., I would stay somewhere on the West side of Asheville or get a bunk at the race site.

    Beach 2 Battleship is a also a GREAT race. So is Augusta. B2B has a super flat bike and both have flat runs and down stream (with the current) swims. I really loved the Augusta bike with the small rolling hills (feels basically flat compared to Greenville rides) better than B2B with the wind though. Email me if you want and I can give you lots of thoughts on all of these races 🙂 I have done so many tri’s around the area!

  2. kilax says:

    No tips from me! But that race scehdule looks awesome!

    I see the Women’s only races getting a lot of flack because some of them are so kitschy. But I think you just have to choose the right one for you! 🙂

    • Steph says:

      Haha, I just hope I’m not in over my head!

      I think that’s probably true. Some of them are definitely overkill on the pink stuff/wine/chocolate/whatever. I really liked this local one because it was basically a no-frills shorter sprint tri

  3. I really wanted to try my first tri this summer and hope my leg heals up for it. I am hoping for a sprint, but cannot wait to hear how yours go.

Leave a Reply

