Triathlon Training

Hey everyone!

While I’m still deciding on which Half Ironman race I’d like to do this fall, I’ve been building up my training plan as best I can.  I’ve been trying to fit in some sort of routine, but between work, social life, and the weather it’s just not been happening. I’ve been trying to add in some morning workouts, which is easier said than done when your work is almost 40 miles away. The good news is that in September that drive will drop to only 10 miles. The bad part about that is my training will be mostly done by then! But, I’ll make it work.

Here’s what the last week looked like:

Sunday, June 16: 6 mile run
I’ve been trying to re-build my running base after I took over 3 weeks off running. This was the longest run I’ve done in a while.

Monday, June 17: Body Pump, Body Step
I had intended to do a longer swim workout today, but when I left work, it started thunderstorming.  Even the indoor pools close when there’s lighnting, so I headed to the gym instead. Luckily I thought to pack gym clothes in my swim bag!

Tuesday, June 18: AM: 4 mile run with 3 0.4 mile sprints PM: CXWorx, Body Attack
There’s a 0.4 mile long track near where I work, so I went before work to get a run in. It was storming after work again so I headed to the gym.

Wednesday, June 19: Swim 3000 m
I had an unexpected work trip this day. I meant to get up early and run, but it was raining, which was a dumb excuse, but I didn’t want to go.  I swam after we got back, but it was a long day, and I was absolutely wiped out, so I cut out 1000 m of the planned workout. I probably should have taken this as a rest day.

Thursday , June 20: CXWorx, Spinning
Spin class always kills me. That class is brutal.  After I left the gym, I practiced on my bike with my new pedals! Only crashed twice, so I guess that’s good.

Friday, June 21: AM: Swim 2000 m  PM: Body Pump, Body Step
I got in a short swim before work, then headed to the gym after work.

Saturday, June 22: REST (sort of)

Sunday, June 23: 7 mile run
I was so wiped out from my “rest day” on Saturday, this run was pitiful. I did pretty much nothing for the rest of the day.

Right now, I’m still doing a good many classes.  I know I’ll cut back more as I get further into the summer, but I don’t want to give them up completely because it’s fun! While I love running and swimming, and to an extent, biking, I still really enjoy group fitness, and I feel like they do have a place in my training plan.

One thing you’ll notice is that I pretty much did not ride my bike last week. I took my bike into Ride On Bikes to get a tune-up, among other things. My bike is really nice, but it’s also probably 20 years old. My dad suggested that it wouldn’t be a bad idea, but they said it would take a few days since they were really busy.  So the bike ride I had planned to do on Tuesday was cancelled.  I also had them replace the front tire, the handlebar tape, the gear shift cables, and install my new pedals.

Big Girl Pedals

Big Girl Pedals!

I bought the pedals at REI last week. I had been considering this for a while, but I didn’t want to spend the money. I was at REI to pick up some other things, and I noticed that there was a nice pair of cycling shoes on clearance (50% off, score!).  So I decided to go ahead and get the shoes and the pedals.

IMG_20130623_150219

When I picked up my bike on Thursday, I practiced clipping in and out in my living room before heading out. My first crash actually happened in my living room! I just kind of fell over, so that was embarrassing. I rode around in my apartment parking lot until I figured out which foot I needed to unclip to stop and how to not fall over. I only fell over once. Success! I’m still not totally comfortable with it, so I need to practice more, but it seems like I’ll manage.

On Saturday, I took a rest day from training to go to the US National Whitewater Center in Charlotte with my biking buddy! This was a ridiculous amount of fun, as you can tell from the amount of pictures we took (zero).  We did whitewater rafting first thing and liked it so much, we did it again. I did get dumped out of the boat once.  We also did the zipline and stand-up paddleboarding, which is both easier an more difficult than I expected. So much fun! I would definitely like to go back to try out some of the other activities.

Have a good (survivable) Monday!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Triathlon Training

  1. You are totally killing it. I just cannot make myself swim. I have found excuses to skip every swim workout for 2 weeks. ugggghhhhh
    I have always wanted to go to US Whitewater.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s always great to connect with other triathletes!

    Your training sounds solid. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

