Training Week 3

Happy Saturday!

IMG_20130704_155800

I hope the weather is better in the other parts of the internet!  I had hoped to take advantage of the shortened work week to enjoy some extra time outside, which did not go as planned at all.  The weather was pretty dreary all week, with a ridiculously rainy 4th, which made for an extra lame holiday. Here’s last week’s training:

Monday PM: Spin Class, Body Pump
The forecast had a higher chance of thunderstorms on Monday, so I planned to hit the gym and not worry about the weather. Did it storm on Monday? NOPE.

Tuesday PM: CXWorx
I planned to go swim before work, but when I woke up, I heard thunder, so I went straight to work instead, and planned to leave early to hit the pool.  The weather looked moderately clear after work, so I went to the pool to find that the power was out. Hah. Thanks copper thieves! They told me they weren’t sure when the power would be back on, so I went home…and of course less than an hour later, it was back on.  I wasn’t about to drive back over there, though, so I went to the gym to do CX and Body Attack. That didn’t happen, obviously, so it turned into a rest day.

Wednesday AM: Swim 3000 m
Wednesday PM: Bike 8 miles
I finally got a swim in! It was raining Wednesday morning, but no thunder, thankfully.  I had my heart set on going to the open water swim meet-up Wednesday afternoon, but as the day went on, the weather got worse.  I decided to take my bike out for a short ride instead and was able to get about 30 mins in before the storm blew in.

Thursday AM: 40 mins on spin bike, BodyStep/Pump Combo
Jen and I planned to meet up before the gym opened to get a 15 or so mile ride in, but when we got our bikes out, it started pouring. Bummer.  We hung out for a bit, then took our ride into the spin room when the gym opened for a short bike workout. Better than nothing, I guess.

Friday AM: Spin Class, 2.6 mile run
I had planned a longer run Friday morning, but when my alarm clock went off, I so did not want to get up, so I slept in until 8. I can’t remember the last time I slept that late! Is that bad? I was up in time for a morning spin class, so I decided to make it a kind of brick workout, and took off for a short run right after class. It was hot out, but not a bad run. It stormed in the afternoon, so my swim workout was cancelled. Again.

Saturday AM: 7 mile run, CXWorx
This run was absolutely pitiful. I was feeling so discouraged afterwards. I couldn’t hold any sort of respectable (for me) pace, and I kept having to stop and walk. I’m feeling very frustrated because while my swimming and biking have been feeling really strong, my runs have been lackluster at best. It’s so bad, I’m almost tempted to take some runs to the treadmill to see if it’s really me, or the weather is just killing me. It has been excruciatingly humid lately, but I feel like I was doing much better last summer and I’m definitely in better shape now than I was a year ago.

Does anyone else really struggle with heat and humidity? Or any tips for this heat-wimp?

Tomorrow is the You Go Girl sprint tri, so hopefully my running legs won’t fail me!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Training Week 3

  1. Victoria says:

    Running in heat and humidity is THE WORST. I struggle to hold my marathon pace for even a short run during the summer. It’s normal! Be sure that you take in lots of fluid and salt the day before your long outdoor workouts – I like to sip on Nuun all day during the summer, even when I’m not working out, because just moving around in the heat causes you to lose a lot of fluid and salt.

    • Steph says:

      Thanks. It’s good to know I’m not alone!

      I never thought about drinking Nuun when I’m not working out. I can’t stomach it during a run, but I’ll try it during the day and see if it helps.

  2. Amy Lauren says:

    You’re right- it is really hard to run in the heat and humidity, and the rain lately makes it worse. Like your gym workouts, you just don’t know when it will rain and when it won’t so you can’t count on getting runs in- almost like you have to plan your run around the weather and the 20-30 minute window when it’s not raining just to get in a couple miles. Fortunately the rain hasn’t been as bad here the last 3-4 days… thank goodness! Pop up showers are one thing but lately the weather is bipolar or something. SC is weird!

    I have also been taking walk breaks and jog breaks lately… you have to in this heat. Really it’s just about logging the miles right now more so than speed- if your swim and bike workouts are going well I wouldn’t worry too much about it. Your run will be way faster when it cools down in September-ish!

    • Steph says:

      Bleh. Ok. I’ll keep slogging away at it! It’s just strange that it seems much harder than last summer. Hopefully the weather settles down soon!

  3. chasingthekenyans says:

    this weather has been crazy lately!! but it is nice to see the lakes filling back up after so many years of little rain. also crazy about the copper theft! $10 value, woo!! so worth it…

    • Steph says:

      Yea, it’s been nice to see Hartwell full again, though, now they’re saying it’s overfilled…so overkill! Hopefully the rain calms down soon!

Leave a Reply

