Triathlon Training Week 7

Well, another week has come and gone and all of a sudden, it’s August. That means a few things:

1) Less than a month until I start working from Greenville!
2) Less than 2 months until the Carolina Half!

Since I don’t really know yet how my change in job will affect my schedule, I want to make August a big training month so I won’t have to worry as much about training in September outside of taper. I also want to focus on building running mileage as “pre-training” for Kiawah. I know it’s still a ways off, but I want to be prepared so I can take some time off after the half before I jump back into running training.

Anyway, back to the last week. My mom came down to visit the Thursday before last and stayed for a whole week. I wanted to make sure I spent as much time as I could with her since I don’t get to see her (in person) that often.  We also had some mini projects to work on around the house, including adding a real bed to my guest bedroom. So that definitely resulted in a lower training volume last week, but it worked out since my first international distance tri was this weekend.

Sunday, July 28:
9 mile run

This was actually a decent run. I tried the walk run method again with a 1 minute walk break every mile and was able to hold a 10:30 pace, which is far better than my last few long runs! I may survive the summer again.

Monday, July 29:
AM: 1600 m swim
PM: Spin Class

I wanted to get in at least 2000 m at the pool, but I was slow getting up, so I was late getting to the pool. I really needed to get to work on time, so I cut out the last 400.

Tuesday, July 30:
AM: 5 mile run
PM: CXWorx, BodyAttack

I had a really strong run on Tuesday. We started out way too fast (8:55) and I thought I was going to die, but we averaged 10 min miles even with our walk breaks. It was definitely confidence boosting.

Wednesday, July 31:
AM: 45 min Spin
PM: CXWorx, BodyPump

The new BodyPump is killer! I’m glad they took the plyometrics out. If I want to do plyo, I’ll go to a plyometric class!

Thursday, August 1:
AM: 3.75 mile run
PM: 22 mile bike ride

I had planned to swim Thursday but forgot that the pool was closed for a swim meet. Luckily, I found a group ride out from Donaldson instead. I didn’t want to ride too hard with a race coming up, but we ended up averaging about 17.5 mph. I’m still having big issues with my nose dripping when I bike, which is driving me crazy.

Friday, August 2:
Rest day! I was so relieved to “sleep in”, even if it was only an hour.

Saturday, August 3: Lake Logan International Tri! Recap to come

It’s crazy to think that 2 years ago when I rode out at Donaldson, which is a pretty hilly area, I would barely survive a 20 mile ride at 13 mph.  I used to think riding out there was the hardest thing ever, which is why I’ve always said biking was my weakest sport. Apparently this is no longer the case! My 22 mile ride on Thursday was no problem (outside of the nose dripping issues). I’d been trying to shift my focus to biking since I thought that was what I would struggle with the most, but it seems that running is what’s been killing me lately. I’m planning to shift my focus to running and bricks as much as I can and hopefully improve my triathlon run.

Another random thing. I don’t get a lot of searches that bring people to my little blog, but one thing that showed up last week was the question “does bodyattack improve my running and swimming fitness?” I wanted to address it since I obviously love BodyAttack and keep it in my triathlon training schedule. I’m not so sure about swimming, but I absolutely think that BodyAttack has helped my running fitness! I cut significant time off most of my running races in the last year and the only significant change to my workouts was adding BodyAttack. Would it benefit everyone the same way? Probably not, but I think it had a significant effect on my fitness and helped increase my speed.

Anyway, have a good week!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Workout Madness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triathlon Training Week 7

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    We don’t have BodyAttack here, but we do have BodyPump and I think it’s a great class for runners. The low weight/high rep builds a lot of endurance which is what we need, plus weight training is just good in general for women because it strengthens your bones against things like stress fractures. I feel like all the Les Mills classes are really good, though.

    You had another epic training week… I really admire how you do 2-a-days so many days of the week! I do it maybe twice a week and that’s hard enough!

    • Steph says:

      Agreed! I think weight training is so important for running, and BodyPump is a great way to get motivated to weight train.

      There are definitely some mornings that I want to sleep in so bad. It helps that I have to get up for work at 5:15 if I don’t workout in the morning, so I figure I might as well get up! I think it will be harder when work starts at 8 instead of 6:30.

Leave a Reply

