Triathlon Training – 2 weeks to go!

FINALLY, officially into taper.  All I have left to do is stay healthy and uninjured (and hope that the temps drop) and all should be fine.

I was trying to eat really healthy this last week and ended up feeling like crap for most of the week. I was tired and my workouts were pretty crappy. Finally, I went out Thursday night and got a pizza and felt MUCH better Friday morning. I think maybe I wasn’t getting enough carbs or something? I don’t really know, but I made sure to get some more carby foods for lunch this week.

I’m still trying to figure out the logistics of everything around my new work schedule while minimizing the amount of driving around I have to do. It was nice to not have a super busy week =)

Monday:
PM: BodyPump
This was supposed to be a rest day but I wasn’t really tired so I went to BodyPump. I’ve started reducing the weight so I’m not totally killing myself but still getting a decent weights workout.

Tuesday:
AM: 6 mile run
PM: 22 mile bike

Wednesday:
Rest
I actually did swim on Wednesday but it was so slow and such little distance that it was basically rest. Blech.

Thursday:
AM: 6.5 mile run
PM: CXWorx, BodyAttack
I really was excited to do a 8-10 mile run on Thursday, but once we got started, I felt like absolute crap. It was probably the worst run I’ve had all summer, and I had some pretty terrible runs this summer! My friends offered to drop my back at my car, but I was determined to at least finish the loop we started and I did my best to keep up, but it was ugly. I was really bummed out. I felt better at the gym later (indoors? no pollen, no humidity). I hadn’t been to CXWorx in a while, and I could feel it. Ow.

Friday:
AM: 3800 yd swim
PM: BodyPump
After a crappy run day, I was so happy to get in a good morning swim. I did a big pyramid set and totally killed the intervals I had picked. Woo hoo!

Saturday:
AM: 35 mile ride
PM: Foam Run
Saturday morning was the Upstate Preservation Ride that I had signed up to do with some friends. We rode pretty slow and easy and the route was easy rolling hills until the end when there were a few big suckers. That evening was the Foamtastic run put on by the GTC. The foam was a little underwhelming, but it was still pretty fun.

IMG_20130914_193639Sunday:
AM: 10 mile run
PM: 29 mile bike
I wanted to do a little bit of a longer run, but my right hip starting really hurting about 5 miles in, so I quit at 10. Not worth the risk! It was a bit of a bummer since the weather was really nice for once, though. I wasn’t planning on doing anything else on Sunday, but I was DYING to go ride my new bike (more on that later!!), so I went out with some swimmer friends for a ride on our flat route.

More info on the new bike coming soon! I’m so excited.

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triathlon Training – 2 weeks to go!

  1. mdrukarsh says:

    Pizza is the miracle food! AWESOME! Sounds like you are ready to go! Can’t wait to hear about the new bike!

Leave a Reply

