Let’s Try This Again

All of a sudden, it’s triathlon season again! I have been so excited to get out on my bike again and have been anxiously awaiting the first races of the season.

So what have I been up to in the meantime? Not much – as I mentioned before, some hip issues have kept me from running the way I’ve wanted to. I am finally pain-free, but am a little off of what I had planned for racing this year. No worries though! That’s just part of it, I guess =)

Here are the races I’ve done lately:
Reedy River 10K – Finished in just under an hour, so marginally better than the Tybee Island 10K and nowhere near my PR. But I definitely started to feel like myself again during this run, so that’s good.  Course and race are pretty much unchanged from years past – this is always a good one!

Moonlight 5K – This was a new one for me. It’s a fundraiser for the American Cancer Society, so a fun 5k with friends for a good cause is always a good idea.  I did a track workout a few days prior to this race and OWWW. I was in so much pain. Also, this is not at all a flat course. I’m pretty sure they went and found every hill in Greer for this one. Still, it was a good time.

Dare to Tri Sprint Tri – HAH. Just kidding. I think this was my first DNS. Not that I wasn’t physically prepared for this race, because I was.  I woke up race morning, packed and ready to drive 2.5 hours to Augusta, and the weather forecast was saying 80% chance of thunderstorms. I even drove 30 mins, saw lightning, and turned around and went home. Did it storm during the race? NOPE. It was even sunny. I was pretty annoyed, but risking the drive all the way down there for storms/rain was so unappealing to me, so oh well.

I also did the Run Like a Diva Half Marathon, but I’ll have a race report for that later this week.

Outside of that, I’ve certainly been busy with training, work, and fun stuff too =) I’m going to try again this weekend to kick off tri season with the Lake Murray Triathlon, so I’ll be looking forward to that!

Happy Wednesday!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Life in General, Running, Triathlon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let’s Try This Again

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Sorry you DNSed your tri and then it was okay! I hate when that happens, but it’s only happened for training for me. Like I’ll run on the treadmill or something, then it’ll be nice and sunny outside later that day, and I’ll wish I’d waited. The weather is always so unpredictable, though. Sometimes I think you’re better safe than sorry (tri is so different from just running in the rain too). Good luck with Lake Murray!

    • Steph says:

      Haha yea, that is the worst! You’ll try and move your workout around to fit the forecast then it is never right. They said it would rain Monday-Wednesday this week and I’m pretty sure it rained exactly none. Thanks!

  2. mdrukarsh says:

    Sounds like you are off to a great start! Can’t wait to read about Lake Murray Tri! Good luck, and hope the weather holds! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sharin’ the Love | See Jain Run

Leave a Reply

