End of the Season!

And finally, it’s the end of the season! What a big, fat relief. I don’t plan on doing much of anything from now until the new year. I definitely need it – I’ve been feeling extra unmotivated lately and need to “recharge” or whatever before Ironman training starts.

But I didn’t end the 2014 racing season in such a terrible way.  I’m still not where I was. It’s disappointing, but if I keep working hard, maybe I’ll get back there! I don’t think my best racing days are behind me!

First was Spinx Run Fest. I decided to sign up for the 10K mostly just for fun – I hadn’t run at Spinx since the marathon a few years ago and the 10K was new-ish. This is a pretty great 10K course! It’s not easy, mostly follows the half marathon course which is also challenging but I think it highlights some of the nicer parts of downtown. The only part to worry about is in Cleveland Park when the half and 10k courses split and kind of go all over the place, but I think the volunteers did a good job keeping everyone straight.

It was definitely a beautiful day for a race. I was doing pretty well until mile 5 – then I wimped out on a hill coming into downtown. Still, I felt like the rest of the race was pretty even paced and finished in 59:55 –  just squeaked in under an hour!

After the 10K, a few friends and I headed up on the marathon course (around 22.5, a super boring area) to cheer and give out candy. We had a pretty fun time, and ate too many Swedish Fish =)

Then a few weeks later we were back in Savannah! I went by myself last year, so I made up for it this year by bringing a horde.  We definitely had a fun weekend – a few of my college friends came from (way) out of town to do their first half marathons and my cousin absolutely killed her PR and ran a 1:37! It was a perfect day for it! (Finally some good weather)

My race was ok. I had promised to run with my running buddy Melinda who wanted to run a 2:15 – a PR for her and what I thought I could do.  We couldn’t find each other at the start though. Too many people! Turns out she wasn’t too far behind me and she caught up to me at an aid station near mile 8 so we ran most of the rest of the way together.  I got a big side stitch in the middle of mile 11 and stopped to walk for a few minutes so I could breath, but was able to catch up for the last mile so we could finish hard together. She was a little slower than her goal but still a PR!  I was a little slower since I started before but finished in 2:17:28. Slower than last year, but better executed and certainly better than my last half in Myrtle Beach!

That’s about all. Sorry for the all words, no pictures. There were certainly some taken but I sure can’t find any decent ones!

Who else is ready for the off-season?? WOOOOO!

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to End of the Season!

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    You might not be where you want to be, but you’re better than where you were last year in MB and that counts for something :). Plus you squeeked in under an hour in a 10K in a hilly area! You have a lot to be proud of.

    I don’t really know when I’ll take an off season… I was planning to do that right around Christmas, but then decided to train for Charleston, so it may be the week after Charleston, we’ll see.

    • Steph says:

      Thanks =)

      Didn’t you take a few months off earlier this year? I feel like that counts as an off-season, even if it was forced due to injury!

      • Amy Lauren says:

        I was off for 7 weeks :). Maybe it did some good because I’ve set a 10K and a half marathon PR since (granted the half marathon PR was actually a 13.1 mile training run since I never race that distance, but still)

Leave a Reply

