Looking to 2015

Ok, so it’s finally the end of 2014, and as much fun as it was, I’m definitely ready to start looking to next year. I feel like it’s already booked up and it’s not even January 1!

Obviously the big event of next year is Ironman Chattanooga. and I’ve tried not to sign up for so many races like I did this year and minimized work travel for next year. If I’m going to do it, I want to do it right, especially since this might be my only one! I also decided to go with a coach – sort of.  I’ll start working with Malone Coaching in February for run coaching only. Coaching is expensive, and I’m already paying the Y for all those masters swim coaches and running is where I need the most help. So Katie and I worked out an arrangement for Chattanooga and I think it will be really beneficial for me!

But before we even get there…

In January, I had originally planned to do the Run Downtown 5K again, but then I found out about another event that’s on the same day for a good cause.  Enjoy the Ride (for Katherine) is a fundraiser event for a local family dealing with cancer. There’s a 65K ride or a 6.5k run and it looks like a large number of our local tri community is going to go out and support. I’ll probably do the ride (unless it’s really freaking cold).

The next weekend is the Asheville Hot Chocolate 10K (This link to the registration is a referral link, FYI).  It’s not affiliated with that big race series, but it seemed like a lot of fun and it was cheaper.

After that I’ll be participating in the Sunbelt Swim Meet in Charlotte with my master’s team again! I’m thinking I may give the 200 back a shot again…knowing that it will be terrible and painful.

I’ve kept February open so I can focus on training for the Asheville Half Marathon and I’m going to try to keep it that way!  I might run the Reedy River 10K on March 7, but it kind of depends on my moving situation (I also have to move to a new apartment in March). Then, Asheville is in March, obviously. The race is sold out, so if you wanted to run it, you’ll have to wait until 2016!

April picks up again with the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler! I didn’t actually expect to get in, but a friend and I entered the lottery and we got in! So I’ll be headed to DC to visit her and run this neat race! I’ve never been to DC, so I’m definitely looking forward to a weekend trip up there.

The weekend after (bad timing), is the Smoky Mountain Relay! This year (2014) a group of (mostly) people that I know decided to do this relay. It sounded like a ton of fun, but it was the same weekend as the Diva race that I had already signed up for.  Luckily for me, a few of their group had to bail out for 2015 and they asked me if I was interested in doing it. YES YES YES. They had a ton of fun last year, so I can’t wait to join the Bootleggers in this race!

After this…it’s May already?? I agreed to join the masters swim team on their trip to Y Nationals in Sarasota, FL. I don’t really have time to go, but….I knew that they would talk me into it after they tried so hard this year. So I just decided to say yes now and make it work.

At some point…I wanted to plan a 70.3, but I still haven’t picked one. Raleigh 70.3 is a great option, but also the most expensive one. It would also mean that I couldn’t participate in the Low Country Splash which is a bit of a bummer. If I can get 10 referrals for Challenge Family, I’ll do Knoxville. Otherwise…??? I could pick a less expensive option like White Lake or Lake Logan, but I really don’t know. I don’t want to wait too long, but I suppose for now, I’ll just say I’m going to do one of them and not worry about it.

After that, there’s not much planned! I want to make sure I have plenty of time to train over the summer! So June, July and August are pretty open. I could sign up for an organized century ride or two, and there will probably be a training camp in Chattanooga with Malone, but outside of that – train hard!

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Triathlon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Looking to 2015

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    Wow, that is a really busy year. I have a half marathon in January and one in March, and I’m eyeing one in February just in case I don’t meet my goals in the January half. Besides that, a lot of 5Ks and the Bridge Run 10K at the end of March (only 6 days after one of the half marathons, yikes!). I have actually heard of Malone coaching, there’s a lady here who uses them and she is a rockstar triathlete and runner so I’m sure it is a good service. I do a speed program with a coach, and even though it was a small group setting and not really personalized, it was good to have weekly workouts planned for me. I like the structure that someone else provides, I guess :).

    Best wishes in 2015!

    • Steph says:

      Yes, she coaches some really talented athletes! Maybe they can rub off on me a little…;)

      Good luck at the Charleston Half! I hope you meet your goal!

      • Amy Lauren says:

        Well the lady I know who uses her is named Rachel and she is really speedy and athletic, so is her daughter. Rachel has been speedy ever since I have known her but she’s really gotten faster in the last year or two and I think that’s when she went with the coaching… probably has something to do with it!

  2. kilax says:

    Woo hoo! You have an awesome first few months planned out! 🙂 I think it’s cool your swim team does meets. And so awesome you got in to Cherry Blossom!!!!

Leave a Reply

