LOL blogging is hard

I keep thinking to myself, “man, I should blog; that would be cool”, and then I get home from work and don’t do that.  But I think almost everyone out there can agree that actually living your life is much better than spending so much time writing about it that you miss all the good stuff.

So the good stuff (triathlon/running-wise at least):

I did run the Asheville Hot Chocolate 10K – if you can call that running. It was pitiful (1:10:45). But we had a fun time so that’s all that really matters.  We spent the evening in Asheville getting ice cream at The Hop (so good, go there!) and eating at UJ.  We have a UJ in Greenville, but apparently the menu is different between the two.

Pre-race, yay we're so happy

Pre-race, yay we’re so happy

The is one I would recommend, but the course absolutely defeated me.  I’ve hate this before, so when I go back to this race (whenever that is) that will not happen again. What got me was, well, you can guess.

WHAT THE CRAP

WHAT THE CRAP

The first mile was great! Woooooo! The middle was fine, though I swear I felt like it was uphill both ways.  But actually…it was flat. I’m just out of shape. Then that last mile – that’s some crazy stuff right there. I was definitely not running at that point; I was hiking. I was so glad to be finished when I got there. I didn’t really have breakfast (just one of those TJ fruit bar things) and was kind of lightheaded so I went straight to the hot chocolate.

I really am not feeling good here

I really am not feeling good here

It was amazing.  This race isn’t associated with the big Hot Chocolate series but I think it was around first!  Based on some of the things I’ve heard about those races, I would go with this one – it’s for charity and the hot chocolate was the best. Plus Asheville is cool.

The weekend after, I had a big swim meet in Charlotte. It’s the same one I did last year (where we met Ryan Lochte). I decided to pick some more challenging events this year and signed myself up for the 1000.

LOL wut

LOL wut

It was first thing Saturday morning and I regretted it for the rest of the day. OUCH.  Everything hurt and I ended up DNS-ing one event (100 fly) because I was wiped.  I actually kind of enjoyed the race though and had a pretty solid time – 13:02.  I swam the 1000 once during my college career and there’s no record anywhere of the time, but I’m pretty sure it was a 12:xx.

Some other events:
200 backstroke – 2:27:54 – perfect even split
200 IM – 2:43:05 – I AM SO BAD at breastroke. SO BAD
100 back – 1:07.69 – A little slower than last year, but still pretty solid

I swam a few other event and relays and we all had a good time =) Also, I swam against Kirsty Coventry in the 50 backstroke and she obviously destroyed me.  She and several  other Olympians were there (since SwimMAC Elite is in Charlotte)  and it’s always really neat to see them swim.

10968479_781141805307252_2919838536012682485_nThe Monday after the meet, I started working with my coach (Katie Malone) and she’s been abusing me ever since.  My first workout was a killer track workout that left me sore for days.  That was 3 weeks ago and thankfully I think I’m starting to get used to it a little but it was definitely a big shift for me!  But she definitely knows what she’s doing and it makes me really excited for this year.

Bike ride last weekend in the gale force winds

Bike ride last weekend in the gale force winds

My next race is the Asheville Half Marathon at Biltmore (the race I’m an ambassador for) so I’m looking forward to that.  I’ve been training hard, so I’d like to have a good race. Not a PR, but I want to see my times heading back in that direction for sure.

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running, Triathlon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LOL blogging is hard

  1. Meredith says:

    Congrats on all the accomplishments! Though it is refreshing to see that I’m not the only one who has discouraging days and difficulties getting out of a rut 🙂

Leave a Reply

