Bear Crawl 10 Mile

*ahem*

This is still here?

To be fair, I haven’t been engaging in many athletic endeavors of note. Or anything athletic really. Post-IM I was pretty lazy: didn’t really swim, bike, or run much until January (with a few exceptions. I did a 5K and a swim leg of a 70.3 relay in October). January showed up which meant a return to coached workouts (in hindsight this was an excellent idea otherwise I would have definitely kept slacking) and finally decisions for races for the year.

One thing I found was that I actually kind of liked trail running a little. I mean, I’m not good (at all), but getting off the road a little really helped with my motivation for long runs and I can’t deny that the hills (mountains) weren’t beneficial.

12670235_10153228428076851_7490716810293926800_n (1)

Look how much fun we’re having

So I decided to take a whack at a real race. Specifically, the Bear Crawl 10 Miler at Table Rock (there was also a 50K but that’s reserved for crazy people). This was a first year race, though I’ve hiked Table Rock plenty of times so I at least had an idea of what I was in for. It’s a quad killer. I did a full course preview two weeks before the actual race date and couldn’t walk very well for most of the week after.

table rock

There she is: all 3,500 ft of elevation gain and crazy wild descent. So. Obviously this wasn’t so much of a race for me but definitely a challenge!

A number of my Bootlegger people were also doing it so we made a day of it by spending most of the afternoon cheering on the 50K runners (that loop 3 times. yes really).

12821399_10208225995745662_7860959211764132632_n

BOOTLEGGERS!

My race was pretty unremarkable. I hiked as fast as I could up the mountain to the peak of Pinnacle Mountain and then slip-slided down until I could get my quads to work again to start running. I didn’t fall at all!

12828411_10207647308814598_6756581496685640792_o

Look I’m having fun

It really was fun. I cannot possibly imagine going back out and doing it two more times. My legs were toast. Obviously my time was nothing impressive at 3:09 but it fit compared to the times of my teammates (slower than all of them haha).

Anyway, thanks for Upstate Ultras (and RD Hammersmith) for an awesome race experience!

 

About Steph

Hey there, I'm Steph
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bear Crawl 10 Mile

  1. Yeah… Pass. I don’t know how those ultra runners run such crazy trails (/mountains), half of the time in the dark, and still manage a good pace at that. I get out of breath and need rest breaks just leisurely “hiking” (walking) up Table Rock! Kudos to you.

Leave a Reply

